Overclock.net banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys , I am trying to overclock this old computer but I am having issues getting "less or equal blue screen" while the bios updates succesfully .
i7 920 currectly running at 3.42GHZ ( + 30mv) with ddr3 consair ram (1333mhz) running at 1371mhz (1.6V) and bus speed 171MHZ ( default 133)
With this overclock the system is stable ( tested on prime95 ) , I have been playing pubg and using it for different software development tasks for the last month and I did not get any issues at all . Also the system runs cool , I rarely see cpu over 64C (147F) .
My issue is that I want to overclock it more but I have tried anything and I still get blue screen ( less or equal error) .
Even a small increase from 171MHZ to 173 MHZ its not possible , I have tried to increase the voltage +40mv +50mv but I still get blue screen . Also I have tried to disable Turbo boost .
I am new to overclocking so any help is appreciated . Thanks

Light Black Line Font Red

Font Technology Electric blue Screenshot Multimedia

·
PC Evangelist
48,444 Posts
You might need even more voltage.

·
Graphics Junkie
4,223 Posts
If you're hitting such a hard wall you're probably running into chipset limitations more so than CPU limitations. 1.6v seems pretty high already. That said I am not specifically familiar with these 1st gen chips.

·
Iconoclast
32,540 Posts
VTT or memory are the probable issues. Manually set ucore multiplier to 2x DRAM multiplier +1 and give VTT voltage a small bump (1.2v is a good place to start).

The IOH shouldn't need any extra voltage at 171 BCLK and ~6.2 GT/s QPI, but you can try ~1.15v to rule it out.

CPU vcore should not need more voltage at the relatively low clocks you're running, but for whatever reason, a lot of Nehalem parts do not like even CPU core multipliers.

·
Registered
401 Posts