Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete novice at overclocking. This is the first time I have ever attempted it. That being said, I'm also not a complete moron when it comes to computers. :-D

After lots and lots of reading and videos, even some specific to my cpu and mobo combo (Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz on ASUS Sabertooth X58 with a Cooler Master V6 120mm air cooler), I went ahead and gave it a shot.

I first went to 3.66Ghz (20x183) @ 1.25V. After a 4-hour stress test with Prime95, it yielded temps of 78 deg but remained stable.

I read that the D0 chip should be able to do better than that on the voltage. So, I tried this:
3.8Ghz (20x190) @ 1.225V. That crashed almost immediately after starting Prime95.

So, the last attempt was to up the voltage back to 1.25V and see what happens. I started Prime95 at 9:30 last night and as of 12:00am, it was still running. But, when I got up this morning and checked it, the PC had rebooted and I got the message saying Windows had recovered from an error. So, I assume it hit a BSOD at some point during the night. Not stable.

Can anyone make any suggestions as to what to tweak next?

Thanks!
Matt

Here are screen shots of my BIOS settings:

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I had seen this article before. I will see if I can digest it better now that I have a little more knowledge.

Will killing hyperthreading hit my performance? I guess if I'm adding more than 1GHz to my speed, losing hyperthreading doesn't negate that. And from what I've heard/read, not many things use the hyperthreading anyway.

Forgive my ignorance, but if I get a BSOD in the middle of the night and I'm not there to see it, how do I go back and see the error code that tells me which setting to change?
I have the DMP file, but how do I read it?

·
Registered
2,049 Posts
What why would you start by killing HT?! That's a last resort, you paid for an i7...