Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again!

How good is the onboard sound on this board? I am an audiophile and plan to use it as an HTPC with my Dolby Pro Logic surround sound speakers optical spdif that I bought back with my 36" Trinitron Wega. I'm very happy with the sound on these, but I've never used the optical before and was wondering whether the onboard sound on the MB is good enough or do I need to add better PCI card. I'm kinda fuzzy on the facts, but as I understand it, since it is digital, the output should be the same regardless of whether it is onboard or through PCI. Is this correct?

If not and it is preferable to add in a card, what cards do you suggest that would support the optical out that would be a good choice for my system? And what makes the difference in the quality of the sound as it isn't analog but digital? Does it process different audio information?

*sigh* I wish I knew more about how all this stuff worked. It just seems that there is so much to learn. I never would have even known a thing about it if I'd stuck with Mac... I think the LC475 was the last machine I even used a music program on.

·
The Computer Guy
6,484 Posts
onboard sound really sux,BTW,i used to have that board.the sound on it is ok,but u should get a sound card if u want better quality sound from those speakers

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Good sound cards will provide better SQ then onboard audio. You can really tell the difference in SQ.

But we would need a budget that you are willing to spend on a sound card.

The Auzentech Forte and Asus Xonar Essence STX/ST are some of the top cards out right now. Forte runs about $130ish brand new, and the Xonar Essence runs about $180 new.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What are the factors that influence the difference in SQ (assuming that is short for "Sound Quality")? Isn't digital output the same regardless of the source?

·
Registered
1,032 Posts