·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy y'all, quick question(s)..
I recently built a new phenom II 555 system, and proceeded to
overclock it.
I used a vcore of 1.5125 volts, bus speed of 225, and a multiplier of 17.5
giving me a stable core clock of 3937mhz, with one core unlocked.

I heard a few places that after a core unlock the temperature sensor on the cpu
becomes incorrect, but the pc probe software that came with my asus m4a79xtd evo motherboard seems to be giving me accurate readings of 40c idle 48c maximum load. Is this incorrect? My BIOS gives me a reading of 41c.

Also, idling, my voltage hovers around 1.51 volts according to cpu-z,
but under load it drops to 1.478 volts.. What's going on?

Overclocking newbie here btw.

·
Registered
2,772 Posts
i believe your Vcore is high for that chip... voltage for that chip looks to be 1.40v at max. you will need to drop it down before you damage the chip.

there is a lot of research you need to do BEFORE attempting to OC. trying to OC without basic knowledge of safe temps and voltages is very dangerous for your computer

48*C at nearly 4.0ghz seems to be very low, what type of cooling are you using? temperatures can get dangerous when OCing and raising voltages.

also, when your CPU is put under load, it is normal for the voltage to drop slightly.

you should have asked these questions before you attempted to OC.

we are all here to help you, so dont take this personally. we, as an OCing community, dont want to see you damage your computer.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I read that the nominal voltage for the 555 is between .8125 and 1.4 volts, but I thought it would be safe to go .1 over.. What do you think?

Also, thanks for the reply!

·
Registered
2,772 Posts
its definately not safe. voltages are regulated very closely with CPUs, down to the thousandths or ten-thousandths of a volt

.1v is actually a fairly large jump in voltage when it comes to CPUs.