Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys i wanna give my 8800gt a little clean using AS5 but i wanna know the steps to taking apart my 8800gt along with pics
a link here on OCN would be nice

its my first time im gonna take it apart so i dont wanna damage the thermal pads and stuff

·
Registered
3,777 Posts
You wont mess it up. Just remove all the screws on the back and lift careful though. Clean all the past off and then wipe the GPU with past remover or whatever you choose. Then repast a little dab in the middle and put it back on screw it down your done

·
Super Moderator
10,389 Posts
It's really not that hard. Here is what I would do.

Find an open area to work so that if you drop a screw, you can find it.

Get a glass jar or mug to keep screws in.

Get a regular-sized philips screwdriver, and a jewelers size screwdriver (if possible).

Just take all the screw off of the cooler. When they are all out, separate the cooler from the card (just pull it straight off).

That is all there is to it.

• Rep+
Reactions: adventfred

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thnks but any pics guys also do have have to place the AS% as just a drop or all over the core chip

·
Registered
3,777 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by adventfred
View Post

thnks but any pics guys also do have have to place the AS% as just a drop or all over the core chip

Honestly you need about the size of a grain of rice in the middle you dont honestly have to spread it/ Once you put the as5 drop in the middle and put the HS back on it will spread it on its own "_"

·
Super Moderator
10,389 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by That_guy3
View Post

Honestly you need about the size of a grain of rice in the middle you dont honestly have to spread it/ Once you put the as5 drop in the middle and put the HS back on it will spread it on its own "_"