Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alrighty...I know I'm sounding like a big noob here, but what is the importance of timings? I'm assuming that the lower the numbers the better, but what exactly should I be looking for? It looks to me like 2-2-2 timings are the best, but when I think about it I realize I don't REALLY understand what that means. I have an Abit NF7 and an XP 2600 mobile and I want to overclock it, but I only have PC2700 RAM right now. Until I get more money, that's what I'm stuck with, but in the mean time I'd like to experiment with some OCing.

Since its PC2700 then I'm limited to 166 mhz, or maybe a bit more cause I can overclock it, right? From what I've heard, AMDs don't like to run on a divider, so am I really being limited by my RAM?

If I change my FSB to 166 and run my multiplier at 13.5, which is what I'm doing, then my RAM should be running at its stock speed, right? But if I raise the FSB higher then do the timings change? Should I be manually setting my timings or letting BIOS set them itself? Its cheap RAM, probably PNY. CPU-Z says its made by SpecTek Incorporated.

If I wanted to OC my CPU to about 2.5 ghz then what am I going to need RAM-wise?

I know its a lot of questions and some probably don't make sense, but I appreciate any help you can give me. I would rather understand something myself rather than someone just tell me what I should be. I want to know WHY its good.

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
11,430 Posts