Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All
I’m fairly Savvy with computers, but I’m new to the Idea of overclocking.
My sister has given me her old PC now she has a laptop and I recon it’s got some life left in it yet.

Processor: AMD Sempron 2800+
Motherboard: Soltek SL-K8M800I

I’m going to use it in my audio set-up at home to run a soft-synth system called Max/MSP and I’d like to turn the wick up on the PC a bit, but keep it stable!
I’ve ordered 2gig of DDR, DIMM, ram (400MHz), and a PCI soundcard to get it up to spec and I’ve fitted a much bigger Air cooled heat sync I don’t know if it’s any good but it was in the bargain-bin at Maplin and I thought it couldn’t hurt! At the moment if I max out the processor the core temp, according to some software called “core Temp†tells me it won’t go over 40 degC.
Could anyone suggest a strategy to overclock this set-up?

Bios Options (The ones I think are relevant!) options in bold are current
Frequency and voltage control
Auto Detect PCI Clk - Enabled/Disabled
Spread Spectrum - Enabled/Disabled
CPU Clock - 200MHz to 250MHz (and anything in between I think)
CPU Voltage - Default, 0.0v, 0.05v, 0.1v, 0.15v
AGP Voltage â€" Default, 1.5v, 1.6v, 1.7v, 1.8v
DIMM voltage â€" Default, 2.6v, 2.7v, 2.8v

Advanced Chipset features
> DRAM Configuration
Current FSB Frequency 200MHZ (Info only not adjustable)
Current DRAM Frequency 200MHZ (Info only not adjustable)

Max Memclock MHz â€" Auto, 100, 133, 166, 200
1T/2T Memory Timing â€" Auto, 1T, 2T
CAS# Latency (Tcl) â€" Auto, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0
RAS# to CAS# Delay (Trcd) â€" Auto, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Min RAS# active time (Tras) â€" Auto, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
Row Percentage Time (TRP) â€" Auto, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

·
The Computer Guy
6,488 Posts