Overclock.net banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to both overclocking and overclock.net.

I need help with my E7400 overclock. I am stuck at 3.6ghz(350x10.5)
I have spent the past two weeks with google trying to find a solution and I am getting frustrated. Here is my problem:

I want to go faster but if I up my fsb to more than 350 but no more than 360 it will start to boot then mess up when Grub starts to load. It just starts giving my a bunch of crap on the screen then goes into Kernel panic. If I go above 360 fsb it will not boot at all with 10.5 multi. It will boot at 400x8 but is not stable. My goal is to get to 4ghz can someone please help me get there.

Also I feel like my vcore(1.37500 in bios 1.35 idle from sensors-applet 1.36 load from sensors-applet) is awfully high compared to other people I have seen on here. If I can't get faster I would at least like to find a way to lower my vcore.

I hope this post isn't too noob but I am a noob so forgive me if it is.

Here are my BIOS settings:

CPU Ratio 10.5
FSB 350
PCIE 100
FSB Strap to NB auto
Dram freq auto
Dram Timing auto
5-5-5-15-3-54-6-3
8-3-5-4-6-4-7
14-5-1-6-6
Dram static read Disabled
Dram Read training Disabled
Mem Oc Charger Auto
AI Clock Twister Auto
AI Transaction Booster Auto
CPu Voltage 1.375
Cpu Gtl ref auto
Cpu PLL volts auto
FSB term volts 1.14
dram volts auto
NB volts 1.18
SB volts auto
PCIE sata volts auto
Load Line Calibration enabled
cpu spread spec disabled
pcie spread spec disabled
cpu clock skew auto
nb clock skew auto
cpu margin enhance optimize

C1E support disabled
max CPUID Value disabled
CPU TM funct Disabled
Execute Disable Bit Enabled

· Registered
2,048 Posts
do you have your memory divider set so that it doesn't run over stock speed? I know that's a simple thing and you probably did, but I just have to ask.