Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Specs:
Power: Corsair TX650W
MB: ASrock 970 Extreme3 R2.0
CPU: FX 8350
VGA: R9 380x

I also have a small cooler master CPU cooler, nothing huge, but still a lot better than the stock cooler.

I'm pretty new to building PC-s and I can't figure out why is this happening, other than it might be a cooling problem, but I'm not sure. Other thing I considered is a defective CPU or MB. Everything is on stock settings, no OC-ing has been done, except that I disabled "Cool n Quiet" and "AMD turbo core", thinking they might the the culprit, but no avail.

Problem:
So I started running prime and AIDA to monitor the temp and see if it's working fine. When the CPU temp reaches 65-66 C it throws down the frequency to about 1300MHz. This happens every few second after that. In gaming it seems to throw off the fps in a similar pattern to that, even on lower settings like medium or high, although I can't see any mayor discrepancy in the CPU frequency. Games on the other hand usually doesn't stress the CPU to 100%.

My Question:
Should I be worried about faulty parts or do you think it's strictly a problem because of overheating or something else?

·
Official Luddite of OCN
5,730 Posts
I can tell you I previously had the first revision of that same motherboard you posted (ASrock 970 Extreme3 R2.0) and the VRM's would roast with my 8350 in them and show similar patterns of throttling at stock speeds, even with an upgraded cooler. The problem with tower coolers assuming your case doesn't have great cooling is that they no longer blow air down over the vrm's. The stock cooler isn't great for this either but it got some airflow over them.

Try openning up the pc case and aiming a box fan or large fan over the cpu socket area and see if it still does this. Also, I'm assuming you are currently not overclocked as well? All drivers up to date, etc.?

• Rep+
Reactions: Gowron

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3