Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,790 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
March Projects of the Month

[email protected]
Start: 24 - Goal: 21 - End: | A little deja vu on this project. This was a POTM in March 2017, and we were ranked 24th with the goal of reaching 23rd. We made it up to 21st then, so let's see if we can get back there. :D
DistributedDataMining
Start: 20 - Goal: 19 - End: | It has been a few years since we had dDM up as a POTM. We are currently 1st in Formula BOINC, so we might as well see if we can pad our lead a bit while picking up a spot in the overall standings. :thumb:
Collatz Conjecture
Start: 6 - Goal: 6 - End: | We are pretty well set at 6th in the overall standings, but we might be able to snag a point in Formula BOINC, where we are currently 11th.

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,825 Posts
I instant failed 118 DDM tasks on my 1700 running Win 10. I can't read my task results on their website because it is keeping the display inside a 5 line box with no scroll bar.

Edit - failed 161 DDM tasks on my Linux server, but these ran for 20 seconds or so before failing.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,973 Posts
I instant failed 118 DDM tasks on my 1700 running Win 10. I can't read my task results on their website because it is keeping the display inside a 5 line box with no scroll bar.
Haha on the scroll bar. I was looking for the project link going through I think the forums and it had a scroll bar with lots of empty space. I couldn't even just now find my computers until I zoomed out in Chrome.

I did see the error rate went way up.
http://www.distributeddatamining.org/errorrate

I was able to pull the links out of the stupid frame and this looks like a normal BOINC site URL.
http://www.distributeddatamining.or...php?teamid=694&offset=0&sort_by=expavg_credit

Your computers:
http://www.distributeddatamining.org/DistributedDataMining/hosts_user.php?userid=3171741

One of your tasks:
http://www.distributeddatamining.org/DistributedDataMining/result.php?resultid=42411627

Exit status -148 (0xffffffffffffff6c)

Maybe a Java error?

stderr out
<core_client_version>7.8.3</core_client_version>
<![CDATA[
<message>
(unknown error) - exit code -148 (0xffffff6c)</message>
<stderr_txt>
Unzip input...done.
Unzip experiment...done.
Determine Java Version
TMP: 'C:\Users\bfrom\AppData\Local\Temp', JAVA_HOME:'', JRE_HOME:'', JDK_HOME:''

Using ''
TMP: 'C:\Users\bfrom\AppData\Local\Temp', JAVA_HOME:'', JRE_HOME:'', JDK_HOME:''

Can't run application (OS:windows): The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)
TMP: 'C:\Users\bfrom\AppData\Local\Temp', JAVA_HOME:'', JRE_HOME:'', JDK_HOME:''

Can't run application (OS:windows): The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)
Sending trickle message to signal WU start.
Start:ready=0 max=4650
D488.000000;491.999140;4650TMP: 'C:\Users\bfrom\AppData\Local\Temp', JAVA_HOME:'', JRE_HOME:'', JDK_HOME:''

Can't run application (OS:windows): The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)
memtrycnt=2;M -Xmx329m -Xms20m
TMP: 'C:\Users\bfrom\AppData\Local\Temp', JAVA_HOME:'', JRE_HOME:'', JDK_HOME:''

Can't run application (OS:windows): The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)
memtrycnt=3;M -Xmx288m -Xms20m
TMP: 'C:\Users\bfrom\AppData\Local\Temp', JAVA_HOME:'', JRE_HOME:'', JDK_HOME:''

Can't run application (OS:windows): The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)

> The dDM-project needs java! Did you install java 1.6 on this computer?
> Boinc expects that the path to java.exe is stored in your PATH variable.
> Usually this is automatically done during java installation.
> Maybe you have to set it manually. More infos under http://www.java.com/en/download/help/path.xml

14:09:56 (500): called boinc_finish

</stderr_txt>
]]>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,825 Posts
I was just being dense. Had to install Java on both systems and now DDM is running. I rearranged some hardware while my 1700 was out for RMA a couple weeks ago and reinstalled the OS, and hadn't needed Java until now.
 

·
Fluffy Fennec Foxes!
Joined
·
10,530 Posts
Oooh, some intersting picks for this month.
 

·
BOINC Cruncher
Joined
·
1,866 Posts
For some reason NFS tasks are instantly failing with a segfault on my 2p. They work fine on my Ryzen system.
 

·
BOINC Cruncher
Joined
·
1,866 Posts
They run fine on my 2P BUT... BUT... the 16e tasks can use 500M-1G memory each.

Do you have enough memory? Mine has 24G ECC...

:D
I have 64G of ECC, so... I have enough.

I never had any problems before, most of my points for NFS are from my 2p.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,790 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
I have 64G of ECC, so... I have enough.

I never had any problems before, most of my points for NFS are from my 2p.
I had the same issue about three weeks ago. When CPDN was down, and I was looking for other projects for the February POTM, I loaded up NFS on my 2P. All tasks were failing in 13-17 seconds with the same error that you have on your tasks. At the time, I didn't have time to see what was going on, so i just removed the project, and then added it back.


When I fired it up this month everything just worked. It looks like we're both on the same kernel, BOINC version, etc so I'm not sure what to suggest other than removing and then adding NFS back again.
 

·
BOINC Cruncher
Joined
·
1,866 Posts
I had the same issue about three weeks ago. When CPDN was down, and I was looking for other projects for the February POTM, I loaded up NFS on my 2P. All tasks were failing in 13-17 seconds with the same error that you have on your tasks. At the time, I didn't have time to see what was going on, so i just removed the project, and then added it back.


When I fired it up this month everything just worked. It looks like we're both on the same kernel, BOINC version, etc so I'm not sure what to suggest other than removing and then adding NFS back again.

It didn't work. Oh well...

One of these days I'm going to put Gentoo back on it, then all my machines will be the same and I can sync updates to one and then sync the rest to that one. When ram prices come back down I was thinking about replacing it with Threadripper.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,790 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Is anyone running Collatz in Linux on the 390.25 NVIDIA drivers? I am instantly failing units on my 1070s with the following errors:

Stderr output of failed task:
Code:
201 (0xc9) EXIT_MISSING_COPROC
BOINC Log of failed task:
Code:
[Collatz Conjecture] Missing coprocessor for task collatz_sieve_4103907764157913497600_52776558133248_0; aborting
Beginning of BOINC log:
Code:
04-Mar-2018 18:29:28 [---] Starting BOINC client version 7.8.4 for x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
04-Mar-2018 18:29:28 [---] log flags: file_xfer, sched_ops, task
04-Mar-2018 18:29:28 [---] Libraries: libcurl/7.58.0 OpenSSL/1.1.0g zlib/1.2.11 libidn2/2.0.4 libpsl/0.19.1 (+libidn2/2.0.4) nghttp2/1.30.0
04-Mar-2018 18:29:28 [---] Data directory: /var/lib/boinc
04-Mar-2018 18:29:29 [---] CUDA: NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce GTX 1070 (driver version 390.25, CUDA version 9.1, compute capability 6.1, 4096MB, 3984MB available, 6852 GFLOPS peak)
04-Mar-2018 18:29:29 [---] CUDA: NVIDIA GPU 1: GeForce GTX 1070 (driver version 390.25, CUDA version 9.1, compute capability 6.1, 4096MB, 3984MB available, 6803 GFLOPS peak)
04-Mar-2018 18:29:29 [---] OpenCL: NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce GTX 1070 (driver version 390.25, device version OpenCL 1.2 CUDA, 8118MB, 3984MB available, 6852 GFLOPS peak)
04-Mar-2018 18:29:29 [---] OpenCL: NVIDIA GPU 1: GeForce GTX 1070 (driver version 390.25, device version OpenCL 1.2 CUDA, 8120MB, 3984MB available, 6803 GFLOPS peak)
04-Mar-2018 18:29:29 [---] OpenCL: AMD/ATI GPU 0: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (driver version 2527.3, device version OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (2527.3), 4086MB, 4086MB available, 5120 GFLOPS peak)
04-Mar-2018 18:29:29 [---] OpenCL: AMD/ATI GPU 1: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (driver version 2527.3, device version OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (2527.3), 4086MB, 4086MB available, 5120 GFLOPS peak)
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Host name: TickTockArch
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Processor: 40 GenuineIntel Genuine Intel(R) CPU @ 2.30GHz [Family 6 Model 62 Stepping 2]
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Processor features: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc cpuid aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid dca sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm epb pti intel_ppin tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms xsaveopt dtherm ida arat pln pts
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] OS: Linux Arch: Arch Linux [4.15.6-1-ARCH]
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Memory: 125.94 GB physical, 8.00 GB virtual
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Disk: 234.01 GB total, 154.64 GB free
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Local time is UTC -7 hours
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] VirtualBox version: 5.2.8r120774
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Config: allow multiple clients
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Config: GUI RPC allowed from any host
04-Mar-2018 18:29:30 [---] Config: use all coprocessors
I took a quick look at the top participants, and at least one person is running the 390.25 driver and completing tasks. My 290 is running Collatz without issue. I have a feeling it has to do with the mixed GPUs in my system, and Collatz somehow losing it's mind even though it does send me opencl_nvidia_gpu tasks for the 1070. I have no issues running other projects on my 1070 (currently running GPUGrid).
 
1 - 20 of 36 Posts
Top