Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, Guys I'm not good with titles lol, but here goes.

I've currently using a SHAW PSU(Yes i know there bad, and i want to get rid of it ASAP, to me its like a bomb with a timer, could go off any second unexpectedly lol) and would like to get rid of it ASAP, I've had it currently for 6 months so I'm amazed it hasn't exploded yet, but here goes

I'm getting $50 dollars for Christmas however I'm wondering if the PSU, I plan to get is good, and will last at least 2-3 years.

The PSU is a Cooler Master OEM S Series RS400-ASABS1 400Watt 80Plus Silver Power Supply Unit.

1. Is this PSU any good, or should i go for a dearer one
2. If this PSU dies, will it take my entire computer down with it?
3. Is it good quality?
4. On a scale from 1-10 how bad are SHAW PSU? I think there bad, but would like your say on them.

Just to put it out there, I only need 400 watts since this is only a programming computer, and i like to do retro gaming xD, anything higher then 400 watts would be over kill for what i need.

Also, sorry about my bad grammar and spelling, half the reason why i have spelling problems is due to my hearing issues, and i wasn't really taught grammar well at school.

- Thanks AppleSpare

·
Registered
72 Posts
Yes, that PSU would perfectly suit your needs, but I would definitely recommend Corsair power supplies, like the Corsair VS450. Corsair are well-known for their high-quality parts that last for a long period of time. Currently, I am using this bad boy.
thumb.gif

·
Senior OCN Member
40,953 Posts
Why not get a Corsair CX430 instead its not great but its fine for what you are going to use your system for.

·
Senior OCN Member
40,953 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesparse View Post

@shilka Seems like a Good PSU, but my computer shop doesn't sell them :/ they only sell the VS Series
The VS series is trash so dont get one of those.