Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning everyone!<br><br>
So, I finally decided its time to get a laptop. I have been looking for about two weeks now and have decided on an Acer laptop that seems pretty good. However, I don't know enough about intel and I made a little mistake. See, I thought the new processor was core duo. Well apparently it is Core 2 duo and the laptop I liked is a core duo...<br><br>
First of all, here is the laptop: <a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16834115246" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834115246</a><br><br>
Its just a touch over 1k and I plan on using it for general media use/ schoolwork/ gaming (while at friends houses). However, like I said, it has an "old" processor. Do you think that it would be worth it to buy this laptop or should I just take the bullet right now and bow down to a Dell that would cost about twice as much. I have seen Chozart put together a really nice Dell but its almost touching 2k dollars.<br><br>
So what do you all think. If I bought the Acer, I would probably buy an extra gig of ram at some point that would hopefully be cheap. (if I did decide to buy the acer, I would need a suggestion on the ram..as I have no clue about laptop ram) The Dell is without a doubt much more powerful but it is quite a bit more expensive. Even though I know I could afford both, I think it would be a better price/performance ratio from buying the Acer.<br><br>
Well, thanks for helping out the most un-decisive person on the earth <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick Out Tongue">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,806 Posts
Cool , i wish i could afford one <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink"><br>
Go with that one , or personalize an HP.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,264 Posts
Go with that one, Will last you a while
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,532 Posts
We sell Acer laptops at the store I work for. They give you a lot of bang for your buck but there were a few things I did not like about them.<br><br>
1: The cases feel very cheap and you can flex them quite easily.<br>
2: They partition the drive into 2 parts AND format the partitions in FAT32 so you will have to convert the drives back to NTFS<br><br>
Other than that you get a lot for your money, the mobile X1600 is a great card for gaming.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
658 Posts
I can say that i have this laptop and I love it. I needed to purchase one for work and I saw this one with an x1600 Mobile and it was at least $500 cheaper that any other with similar specs at that time. Like Dman said it does come with fat32 and 2 partitions, but a simple reformat will take care of this, I had to any way to put xp pro on for our domain. But aside from a slightly weak processor(at this price you cant really complain though) this is the best buy for your money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The pluses for the Acer just sky rocketed lol...<br><br>
Umm...a cpl questions I have is that the X1600 steals 512 ram so I am left with 512 ram for gaming, so wouldn't that kill performance with games like WoW until I managed to get 2gb. Also, any sudgestions on Ram would be great. It looks like its 2x 512 in there right now so I would have to purchase a whole to gigs of ram...which makes me a sad panda.<br><br>
Thanks <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"><br><br>
EDIT: I found two sets of ram with the mostly the exact same specs as the ones that are in the acer:<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146517" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146517</a><br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146440" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146440</a><br><br>
The bottom one is out of stock right now but I could wait for it <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick out tounge caps">
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,532 Posts
Was wondering about that my self. We sell almost the same laptop except the model we have comes with 2gb's of ram. I looked at the system properties it said the x1600 had 512mb of ram, but when I look at the physical ram it still says the full 2 gb of ram available for windows. The x1600 is suppose to have 128mb of dedicated ram so you could make it default to that if you are worried about ram.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Dman</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Was wondering about that my self. We sell almost the same laptop except the model we have comes with 2gb's of ram. I looked at the system properties it said the x1600 had 512mb of ram, but when I look at the physical ram it still says the full 2 gb of ram available for windows. The x1600 is suppose to have 128mb of dedicated ram so you could make it default to that if you are worried about ram.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Oh nice. Well its already ordered and on its way. I will buy the 2 gigs of ram when I think I need it. God I can't wait for this thing to arive. Will actually give me a reason to attend journalism and Core Humanities!!!! Not only can I take notes (which I doubt will happen) I can do homework for that or another class without attracting too much attention!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,987 Posts
There's a drawback though, (if you are planning to upgrade to Vista anytime soon) I don't think Core Duo support Vista cause it's 32bit and Vista is 64. Meanwhile, Core 2 Duo is also 64bit. Just my opinion if you are planning to upgrade.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
658 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Elyaas</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">The pluses for the Acer just sky rocketed lol...<br><br>
Umm...a cpl questions I have is that the X1600 steals 512 ram so I am left with 512 ram for gaming, so wouldn't that kill performance with games like WoW until I managed to get 2gb. Also, any sudgestions on Ram would be great. It looks like its 2x 512 in there right now so I would have to purchase a whole to gigs of ram...which makes me a sad panda.<br><br>
Thanks <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"><br><br>
EDIT: I found two sets of ram with the mostly the exact same specs as the ones that are in the acer:<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146517" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146517</a><br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146440" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146440</a><br><br>
The bottom one is out of stock right now but I could wait for it <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Stick out tounge caps"></div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
There is an option in the bios to change that, as I only play css really on it I turned off the sharing and just have it use the 128 it has dedicated
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,460 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>dannyyboii</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">There's a drawback though, (if you are planning to upgrade to Vista anytime soon) I don't think Core Duo support Vista cause it's 32bit and Vista is 64. Meanwhile, Core 2 Duo is also 64bit. Just my opinion if you are planning to upgrade.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
<br>
Vista comes in 32 bit aswell eh. Also that laptop should run vista fine if you chose to upgrade it. As for that Acer, I have sold 10 or 15 of them in the last few month and they are great notebooks. You'll be happy with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Marshall82</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">There is an option in the bios to change that, as I only play css really on it I turned off the sharing and just have it use the 128 it has dedicated</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Awesome...i am going to have it tonight so I think ima DL all the drivers and stuff and then load up XP pro on it and install all the drivers....gonna be a LONG LONG night Weeee<br />
<br />
( I have to Raid in World of Warcraft too...so thatl make it easier. AND the second half of season 10 of South Park starts up today and its on WoW....>CANT WAIT!!!)<br />
<br />
EDIT: Marshal, is that with an updated bios, because that option isn't in bios that came with the laptop. I am going to re-format the thing when I get the chance but ATM I just don't really have the time to re-format the whole computer and deal with all the drivers, so I just let it go with what it comes with and killed almost everything manually lol
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top