Overclock.net banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Banned
526 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok well I am about to upgrade to some new HDs and raid0 them... I was just wondering is it possible to put game data on an external drive and then put it on the new drives after they are installed?

(I know I am a newb)... I have never used an external drive or backed up data... But I want to get my Steam games again without downloading them (200GB worth of games and my school's bandwidth is capped at 220kb/s = like easily over 10 days of straight downloading...)

I see an option on Steam that says "Backup game files..." will this option let me put all of the data on an external drive?

I was also wondering if this would even work...? I am using THIS external drive and I was just wondering if it would plug and play... Because if it has to format after I try to put it on my "new" computer (with the fresh install and everything) that would be bad...

Thanks for any answers they would be very helpful!

·
Not new to Overclock.net
77,827 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Squeets View Post
Ok well I am about to upgrade to some new HDs and raid0 them... I was just wondering is it possible to put game data on an external drive and then put it on the new drives after they are installed?

(I know I am a newb)... I have never used an external drive or backed up data... But I want to get my Steam games again without downloading them (200GB worth of games and my school's bandwidth is capped at 220kb/s = like easily over 10 days of straight downloading...)

I see an option on Steam that says "Backup game files..." will this option let me put all of the data on an external drive?

I was also wondering if this would even work...? I am using THIS external drive and I was just wondering if it would plug and play... Because if it has to format after I try to put it on my "new" computer (with the fresh install and everything) that would be bad...

Thanks for any answers they would be very helpful!