Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
that is running at q9100 speeds. perhaps you just got an engineering sample with a higher multiplier. I don't own one of these chips yet (just ordered an q9100) but I'm pretty sure the multi is locked?? if not I'd like to get my q9100 to q9300 speeds
biggrin.gif

·
Premium Member
7,263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
its suppose to be locked. ive been having issues with BSOD in windows, all other the place, so random that theres no way to trace it
happen to turn off power savings, where cpu is 100% speed all time, and its running 2.26ghz, i was like ***, but its bouncing back and forth from 7.5 to 8.5
no bsod after stopping speed step

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
no idea, I'm no expert on these mobile quads. I have a p8400 duo right now. kinda sucks they are locked. I want the qx9300 but that thing is still way pricey. over $200.... worse case scenario you could pick up a q9100 for $100

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
My T9600 runs a half multi higher than it's suppose to but it is an engineering sample chip. I do believe intel was beginning to work on a type of turbo boost with the mobile c2d and c2q at one point but it never made it to fruition until nehalem. You buy the chip off ebay?

·
Premium Member
7,263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspeedracer View Post

My T9600 runs a half multi higher than it's suppose to but it is an engineering sample chip. I do believe intel was beginning to work on a type of turbo boost with the mobile c2d and c2q at one point but it never made it to fruition until nehalem. You buy the chip off ebay?
it is a ebay chip but its a OEM from a alienware, not a engineering sample
(last mobile ES i bought was to unstable to run so i chose to avoid it this time)

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
here is the chip I'm looking at currently. best price I have found. do you think this is risky? might be an ES?