Overclock.net banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The VID of my Q9300 is 1.188, I was just wondering if this is good as I am not too experienced with 45nm quads. How does it compare to most? Plus rep for thorough answers, thanks!

·
Premium Member
4,775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tator Tot
View Post

That is a great vid on your CPU.

Most are usually in the 1.2 range.

Ok cool thanks man!

·
Banned
11,146 Posts
I know that many ``normal`` 45nm's are about 1.21-1.25v! So you have a good vid!

• Rep+
Reactions: slothfish

·
Premium Member
4,775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the help guys! I know my VID won't really predict how far I can take my chip, but hopefully I can get there with fewer volts! What do you guys think is the maximum safe voltage for my chip to run 24/7? Keep in mind I want to have this thing running well for years to come and have it folding every day all day.

·
Banned
11,146 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by slothfish
View Post

Thanks for the help guys! I know my VID won't really predict how far I can take my chip, but hopefully I can get there with fewer volts! What do you guys think is the maximum safe voltage for my chip to run 24/7? Keep in mind I want to have this thing running well for years to come and have it folding every day all day.

1.3625 in real time
have fun overclocking!

·
Premium Member
4,775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Wonderful, I can probably hit a good clock at that voltage. Thanks guys!

·
Banned
11,146 Posts
I would bet 3.6ghz max, if your motherboard is ok!

Report back!

·
Registered
1,282 Posts
Sorry to be a buzz-kill but no, that's not a particularly good VID. A low-VID Q9300 would be 1.075-1.1625V or so.