Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was looking through for some cheap builds and saw a thread back in October for some Quad-core gaming rigs around $500US. Unfortunately, and maybe fortunately, some of those deals have passed and some new ones have begun.

Since I'm new to building, I was wondering if some of you guys could help me figure out a good, current quad-core budget rig build for around $500 (of course, with open taste on brands), excluding software and external hardware.

Thank you all for your help!

PS.: If it's possible, please exclude in-store deals, such as from MicroCenter, unless the chain has stores in central Florida, thanks.

edit PSS.: Also if possible, preferably use AM3 or 1366, for minimal future-proofing. Thank you.
biggrin.gif

·
Registered
992 Posts
Ditch that PSU. It is WAY overkill for your purposes. Look for a 500-600W one instead.

·
Registered
992 Posts
Honestly I wouldn't buy OCZ DDR3 if I were you.

·
Registered
992 Posts
91622024.png

Here is a possible build. After rebates it is ~550 shipped.

I wasn't sure what to pick for the case, so feel free to change that.

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbao26975;11966504
91622024.png

Here is a possible build. After rebates it is ~550 shipped.

I wasn't sure what to pick for the case, so feel free to change that.
Thanks, that looks like a nice build. The Six Hundred is nice, it definitely has better airflow than the case I chose and it looks better too.

·
Registered
992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snuggles720;11966623
Thanks, that looks like a nice build. The Six Hundred is nice, it definitely has better airflow than the case I chose and it looks better too.
Glad to be of help. The CPU, mobo, GPU, Case and RAM should be better than what you originally had planned out. Only hassle is rebates which can be pesky sometimes but save you money in the end.

·
Registered
992 Posts

·