Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm thinking about adding another machine to my "hobby" farm.

Was looking at a quad opteron board and 4 x 8 core cpu's. The problem here is that there is no overclocking support on most server boards.

For the same money, I could get 4 2600k's on z68 and oc them to the sky.

So 32 Opteron cores at 2.0 Ghz and a ton of quad channel ram

or

16 hyperthreaded cores at 4.7-5 Ghz and faster dual channel ram

Which is better? Would be native linux obviously. Is it possible to run more than one motherboard per PSU?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,944 Posts
Get the i7's. If you were crazy get i5 2500k's and get them to run Bigadv. You could add 1 extra rig possibly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
708 Posts
if your PSU is big enough, you can run two machines, but you are going to have to mod the main ATX outupts. (Double the wires and have a connector) I have done it at work, so I know for sure it works, atleast on older systems.

As far as the Opteron/2600k's. Not sure, but interested none the less.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,751 Posts
I would go with the 2600K's. I have 4 of them folding @ 4.5ghz 24/7 on big bigadv's, and woah.... you're looking at 308K PPD or +1million points when they drop (all at the same time).

the 2600K's do cost less, the PPD they make are well worth the cost .vs perfomance
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,805 Posts
From [H]

Quote:


Originally Posted by musky

Project: 6903
Average time/frame: 00:21:15
CPU: Magny Cours 6134 @ 2.3 GHz
# of CPU sockets: 4
# of Physical cores: 32

# of FAH CPU processes: 1
# of FAH GPU Clients: 0

RAM GB installed: 16
RAM Type: DDR3 1333
RAM Speed: 1333Mhz CAS 9

OS name/kernel version Ubuntu 10.04/2.6.32
Client: 6.34
Running in VM: {No}

That's around 271k PPD!

Quote:


==============================================

Project: 6904
Average time/frame: 00:29:17
CPU: Magny Cours 6134 @ 2.3 GHz
# of CPU sockets: 4
# of Physical cores: 32

# of FAH CPU processes: 1
# of FAH GPU Clients: 0

RAM GB installed: 16
RAM Type: DDR3 1333
RAM Speed: 1333Mhz CAS 9

OS name/kernel version Ubuntu 10.04/2.6.32
Client: 6.34
Running in VM: {No}

273k PPD

Quote:


=============================================

Project: 6903
Average time/frame: 00:17:40
CPU: Magny Cours 6166HE @ 1.8 GHz
# of CPU sockets: 4
# of Physical cores: 48

# of FAH CPU processes: 1
# of FAH GPU Clients: 0

RAM GB installed: 16
RAM Type: DDR3 1333
RAM Speed: 1333Mhz CAS 9

OS name/kernel version Ubuntu 10.10/2.6.35 or Arch/2.6.36
Client: 6.34
Running in VM: {No}

OMG! 357K PPD

Quote:


============================================

Project: 6904
Average time/frame: 00:24:16
CPU: Magny Cours 6166HE @ 1.8 GHz
# of CPU sockets: 4
# of Physical cores: 48

# of FAH CPU processes: 1
# of FAH GPU Clients: 0

RAM GB installed: 16
RAM Type: DDR3 1333
RAM Speed: 1333Mhz CAS 9

OS name/kernel version Ubuntu 10.10/2.6.35 or Arch/2.6.36
Client: 6.34
Running in VM: {No}

363K PPD

Depending on how much you pay, the Opteron option could be very positive
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,147 Posts
One of the advantages of the opteron board is that it will take Interlagos cpus. Those are going to be 12/16 core cpus. I imagine that by the time those come out AMD should have fixed a lot of the Bulldozer issues. Not to mention that you will only deal with 1 computer vs 4 individual machines and should have less problems with stability due to the fact that there is no overclocking involved.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,592 Posts
If I had the money I'd def go for the Opteron option, partly because what mach1 and Desert posted. And the power draw would be lower on the Opteron (around 500W iirc) and a 2600k draws around 200W right, so 800W for four of 'em. And it's way cooler to have a 4 socket machine folding than a measly single socket.
tongue.gif
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,751 Posts
I would like to say that the socket G34 motherboard build would be very good. If cost isn't a problem, then the G34 solution would make the most sense. * didn't see a budget *

As far as running multi. systems on 1 psu, I've seen 3 z67 motherboards on 1 psu. You need to have a special 24 pin Y cable and then wire the motherboards to all turn on at the same time. You can't have 1 just on and then turn the others on: It's all or nothing. I believe the build I saw, the guy used a Antec High Current 1200watt psu for that build.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,579 Posts
Additionally:

advantage of the opteron system would be that if they change the deadlines for hugeadv such that an overclocked 2600k would no longer work then your ppd will drop

advantage of the 2600k system would be resale value

You also want to consider running costs i.e. power use of 4 2600k vs the single opteron quad cpu build.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I'm leaning towards the Opterons ATM but I'm not set on it. I figured about $2000 is what it will cost. With either option I wouldn't have to do it all at once but I probably would.

I'd like the one big box over many smaller just for the simplicity of it and of course it would be really cool as well. It would definitely be easier as far as the power supply goes, and it would be cheaper to operate, I think.

But if the 2600k's would be faster by a lot I could probably deal with the extra hassle.

Edit -

So:
Quote:
Originally Posted by musky
Project: 6903
Average time/frame: 00:21:15
CPU: Magny Cours 6134 @ 2.3 GHz
# of CPU sockets: 4
# of Physical cores: 32

# of FAH CPU processes: 1
# of FAH GPU Clients: 0

RAM GB installed: 16
RAM Type: DDR3 1333
RAM Speed: 1333Mhz CAS 9

OS name/kernel version Ubuntu 10.04/2.6.32
Client: 6.34
Running in VM: {No}
My 2500k is running a 6903 right now at a TPF of 1:00:40. ( If your curious, it finishes with over 18 hrs to spare. )

If I had three 2500k's all running at 4.9 Ghz like the one I have now, that would be (56025 PPD x3) 168075 PPD, would I get more bonus points by running a lower TPF on the 4x Opterons?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,066 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deeeebs;15359179
I was thinking the Magny-Cours like the two of these I have sitting at home for starters.
Yeah those procs are ok they get a decent gflops with ACML-4.4.0 and
HPL.2-0. But with interlagos/valencia you need to use NDA ACML-alpla5
and compile it with gcc-4.6 and HPL.20, but still performance sucks!!

That's why I can't keep up with your kingkong because almost all of my
folding machines are AMD MC and Interlagos, lol!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
525 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deeeebs;15359179
I was thinking the Magny-Cours like the two of these I have sitting at home for starters.
Only you would just have a few $1200 cpus setting around.
lachen.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsa700;15348418
Hey all, I'm thinking about adding another machine to my "hobby" farm.

Was looking at a quad opteron board and 4 x 8 core cpu's. The problem here is that there is no overclocking support on most server boards.

For the same money, I could get 4 2600k's on z68 and oc them to the sky.

So 32 Opteron cores at 2.0 Ghz and a ton of quad channel ram

or

16 hyperthreaded cores at 4.7-5 Ghz and faster dual channel ram

Which is better? Would be native linux obviously.
The 4 2600ks would get you way more PPD but would also consume more power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsa700;15348418
Is it possible to run more than one motherboard per PSU?
Yes. I have 3 setups like that. The most efficient way is to get PSUs that will run as near a 50% load as possible. They are most efficient in the 50% range.
You won't need to do any cable modding. You can all the splitter cables you need here. That's where I got mine. You'll need separate power and reset switches for each mobo because when you start one all the fans and lights will power up but it will not start the other one. Power and CPU activity lights are optional.
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top