Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to photography and was wondering if i were to pick up a prime lens, say a 35mm f1.4, would the aperture be fixed or variable? i understand that the fixed focal lenses are usually superior to those zoom lenses.

thanks!

·
Premium Member
7,645 Posts
if what you mean is the aperture always stuck at f. 1.4.
no, no it is not, that is just the widest aperture you have available.
and the reason primes are usually 'superior' is because they can often be made with a larger aperture then a zoom of the same size/cost and because there is often less lens distortion and other lens flaws such as CA.

·
Premium Member
19,078 Posts
A 35mm f/1.4 is going to be very expensive. If you don't need a lens quite that fast, f/1.8 primes are much cheaper, and only about 2/3 of a stop slower.

The f/stop value listed is the fastest it goes, they then go up from there in this pattern: f/1.4
f/2
f/2.8
f/4
f/5.6
f/8
f/11
f/16
f/22

Some will have f/32 or higher.

My 50mm f/2 prime stops down to f/16, while my 24mm f/2.8 will go to f/22. Electronically controlled lenses and high focal length lenses often have higher f/stops. For example, the Canon 70-200mm F/4 goes to at least f/45. Older full frame lenses would often go to f/64.

Your first prime should be a fast 50mm or 35mm. 50mm is considered a "normal" lens as it is equal to one human eye. However, on crop sensor DSLRs, such as the D40 through D300 including the D1/D2 and the all Canons before the 1Ds and 5D/5DMKII are crops. This means the effective focal length is multiplied by the crop factor. For all non-full frame Nikons it's 1.5x, and on Canons it is 1.6x except for a few which have a 1.3x crop.

So, that 50mm becomes 75mm (80mm with Canon) on what a full frame (think film) would see. That's why the 35mm becomes a very useful lens on a crop DSLR, because it is effectively a 52mm lens on a Nikon crop sensor.