Overclock.net banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yo! Let me cut to the chase. I plan to build a Mac/PC Rig. (I plan to get Snow Leopard, use bootcamp to create a partition and load windows in it) Why? Because, I am a Music Producer. But I like to game it up, So I need to know if all (Or ANY) of these parts of hardware will be compatible with Mac.

Intel Extreme Series BOXDX58SO LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

2x MSI R5770 Hawk Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP

CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor

CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

Scythe KAMA READER 2 SCKMRD-2000BK 45-in-1 USB 2.0 Media Reader & Writer

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler

LITE-ON CD/DVD Burner Bulk Black SATA Model

You might think it's a stupid question, but I don't want to waste $1,850 on stuff that will be only compatible with 1 of my OS's.

·
Premium Member
5,410 Posts
I don't think you can run Mac OSX on that build. Apple have tight restrictions what on hardware can OSX run on it.

BTW Welcome to Overclock.net. Nice to see someone from Portland because I am from there too.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nice, and crap... I just want to be able to game it up, Record and make beats. Looks like I'll have to buy a Mac Laptop ^_^;

·
Super Moderator
32,931 Posts
You do realize that you can record and make beats on a PC too, right? It would definitely make your goal a LOT easier.

It IS possible to dual boot Mac and Windows...I just personally don't know how to do it, or what hardware is needed. Not really a "common" thing to see really.

·
Premium Member
5,410 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by YaBoyJDub™ View Post