Overclock.net banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My job has asked if I was interesting in taking over the IT end of things (we are a small magazine publisher). Our current IT guy has been very hard to get a hold of. We have been trying to get him in for 2months now to fix the domain server, so my boss knows that I know computers and build them and asked if I would be interested in taking over.

So my question is - can anyone recommend a decent online course that explains the basics of Windows Server 2003? We are a non-profit, so the server is a bit outdated including the OS on it. I have basic knowledge of web, ftp, servers - but know very little on domain servers. I also know our server has several scripts for maping drives to the 9 computers that connect to the server. So, any help is greatly appreciated, and sorry if this is not in the correct section.

·
Registered
3,315 Posts
Server 2003 is pretty easy to get started with. Do you know what is wrong exactly?

All the user administration including permissions, login scripts, home folders, etc are set up in the Active Directory Users & Computers snap in. You can either launch it through Administrative Tools, or Start>Run>mmc> Add/Remove Snap-In and then select it from there.