Overclock.net banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am not new to building computers, however, I am new to high end computers. I am in the process of planning a new build, hopefully purchasing in the next week or so.

I have come across a problem though, I am using two GTX 580 3GB cards in SLI (not sure which make yet) one of the ones I have been looking at, the Gainward Phantom is a 2.5 slot width card, compared with the Palit card which is a standard 2 width.

I have also been looking at either getting a P8Z68-v Pro motherboard or a p67 sabertooth, I would normally go for the p8z68-v pro one but have been told the spacing between pci-e slots (the 16x ones) is not large enough to accomodate the 2.5 width cards, or atleast not comfortably.

Case wise I will be using a HAF-X case.

I am wondering if anyone could give me some insight into a couple of points.

If I use the p8z68 board will two 2.5 width cards fit into the adjacent pci-e slots?

If I go for the sabertooth will the second 2.5 width card come close to the powersupply? I have been told that it may not fit because of the distance between the pci-e slot and the PSU.

Hopefully someone can answer

Regards

Jon

PS Also if both end up being an option, which board should I go for? P67 or p8z68?

·
M2N Fan
2,864 Posts
Either of the boards will work,Asus uses 3 slot spacing for the pciex16 slots.

But if you plan to use the one with the 2.5 slot cooler in the lower slot the P8Z68-v Pro x16 #2 slot has 3 slot clearance to the psu also.

Good luck

Gyro

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gyro
View Post

But if you plan to use the one with the 2.5 slot cooler in the lower slot the P8Z68-v Pro x16 #2 slot has 3 slot clearance to the psu also.

Good luck

Gyro