Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
713 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a solution for a friend that runs their own photography studio. They are complaining of the computer being slow when running Photoshop. The pc has an ASUS M5A88-M MB with Integrated ATI Radeon™ HD 4250 GPU. It also has 1 stick of Mushkin 4GB PC3-10666 memory. I am not familiar with how system intensive Photoshop software can be as I have no experience with either but I do build pc's and would think that a better GPU would be required? Could someone enlighten me? Thanks.

·
Registered
4,853 Posts
you need lots of system memory to edit pictures, I have 24 gigs but after I edit 10 pictures my photo editing software warns me that I need to save those 10 pictures as I am running out of memory. a better graphics card would also help your friend along with a IPS monitor which I also use as it gives true color display of your photos which is a must if your going to edit photos correctly.

·
Registered
713 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlhawn View Post

you need lots of system memory to edit pictures, I have 24 gigs but after I edit 10 pictures my photo editing software warns me that I need to save those 10 pictures as I am running out of memory. a better graphics card would also help your friend along with a IPS monitor which I also use as it gives true color display of your photos which is a must if your going to edit photos correctly.
Thank you for the speedy response. So the first thing would be to upgrade the memory. Do you feel the video upgrade is a must?

Looks like this motherboard only supports a max of 16GB do you think that would make a drastic difference?

·
Registered
4,853 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jswerve View Post

Thank you for the speedy response. So the first thing would be to upgrade the memory. Do you feel the video upgrade is a must?