Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. This is my first time water cooling since 2010. I built in a Corsair Obsidian 800D back then and, let's just say that there was probably TOO much space in that case. Anyway, I've got a 5950x and a 3090 FE that I'd ideally like to build a loop around now that I know the EKWB 3090FE blocks actually improve VRAM temps on both sides of the card. I'm running a Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO for my 5950x at the moment in my Corsair 5000D Airflow. It performs admirably and stabilizes around 75-78C looping Cinebench with PBO and Curve Optimizer. My issue is that my top-mounted radiator setup is kinda janky and I'm worried about clearance issues if I were to use a single 420MM radiator or even 2x 360's for top/side. I absolutely had to split my radiator and fans inside/outside the chassis. The top VRM heat sink on my B550 Tomahawk doesn't allow enough clearance for the arctic radiator + fan to be inside the case. It's simply too tall. While researching parts for a loop I did notice that the arctic radiators are 38mm thick vs. the standard 30mm of most other radiators, but I'd hate to have to deal with buying everything and learning that I can't install push/pull or just push with all fans and rad in the top of the case. I'm pretty sure those mosfets legitimately need the heatsink, especially with a 5950x that is used daily for software development with decent amounts of compile load.