Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I need a new harddrive for another computer in my house and currently in my big comp I am on I have a 320gb hd and a 250gb hd and I use the 320 as a primary and the 250 for games and etc. I was debating on trying a RAID setup out and I have never done one before and I was looking into maybe setting one up today. My current harddrive is this and I was wondering if I got this if I could make them work well together and have a good performance increase. They are different brands but the same cache and rpm and size so I assume they would work together? also what RAID should I set it up as? RAID 0 or RAID 1? which will yield the best performance? Thanks

·
Premium Member
5,973 Posts
RAID 0 will yeild the best performance. Those hard drives should work ok together, although the seagate is faster. You can also RAID the two hard drives you have now, although you will loose 70gb of space. You need to make sure you motherboard has a RAID controller before attempting this. Do a lot of research, there is a lot of technical work involved in setting up a RAID stripes configuration.

·
Premium Member
5,973 Posts
It will be faster, but the difference will only be really felt with large data transfers and such. You will load programs and you OS faster then before, but you double the chance of hard drive failure (because if one goes, all your data is lost). WD is very reliable though, I would do it, just back up important data on your 250gb and make regular copies of you OS.

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter #6