Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am new to these fourms.

Any ways.... i have a intel p4 2.4b. I recently began overclocking and was able to hold it stable at 2.6ghz. Everything ran well and i noticed a large diffrence in HL 2 and all my source engine games, however since i overclocked i have been getting "Program can not read memory etc etc" about 20 min in on all of my source engine games. The only actual game i need it for is HL 2 becaues the physics calculations are very hard on my proccessor and cause about half a sec of lag before each physic interaction. Since i overclocked this has been no problem and the game runs far better excerpt for (as i said) the memory error. All my other programs and games run fine. I just wanted to know if there are anyways to get around this. I was not surpiresed when this happedend becaues i know a fair bit about overclocking and how it causes problems sometime but just wanted to know if there was anyway of getting around this. I have a Intel P4 2.4b, 512mb DDR 266 ram, 9800pro, a Albatron PM266A PRO, sufficent cooling and a 350w power supply.

Any help provided would be much appricated. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Welcome!! Have you tried upping the vDIMM?? You might need to add a little extra voltage to the DIMM's to keep it stable. This sounds like a voltage issue, since you are able to get into Windows. Also, you might want to start looking at a new PSU. 350Watts is pretty weak in this day and age, especially if you want to do any overclocking.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by shermstix