Overclock.net banner

My system with a Ryzen 5000 CPU reboots with BIOS defaults

61 - 80 of 792 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts
Shutdowns makes me think of overheating.
I would revert to F30 and test if it happens again.

By the way: club membership denied! Shoo with that oldie CPU. We are a fancy club.
Haha dang. Goodbye fellas.

Btw, my temps are good. I did small FFTs on Prime95 and I hit a maximum of 77c. I'm using a Noctua NH-D15. I'll revert back to F30 and see how that goes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
And just when I was going to hand my 9900k Hero XI system to my son and build a new AMD rig. I haven't built an AMD system since Core2 arrived. With images of Athlon Slot As, Thunderbirds and Athlon 64 Hammers dancing in my head...my dreams are snuffed out. This is about the worst CPU/platform launch I've seen in years with 5000 series Ryzen chips puking all around the net. How is this not caught by review sites? Or AMD and mobo partners.

I'm subscribed. I really hope this resolves soon. Very disappointing!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #63
How is this not caught by review sites? Or AMD and mobo partners.
I am asking myself the same exact question.
Not ONE review stating ANY problems whatsoever. I do not count those saying they were unable to overclock IF to 2000 or more.
Possibility1: most if not all the "big" reviewers received cherry picked samples; decent chance
Possibility2: they do not talk about this issue in fear of not receiving free stuff to test in the future; slim chance but not zero.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
This is about the worst CPU/platform launch I've seen in years with 5000 series Ryzen chips puking all around the net. How is this not caught by review sites? Or AMD and mobo partners.

I'm subscribed. I really hope this resolves soon. Very disappointing!
I am asking myself the same exact question.
Not ONE review stating ANY problems whatsoever. I do not count those saying they were unable to overclock IF to 2000 or more.
Possibility1: most if not all the "big" reviewers received cherry picked samples; decent chance
Possibility2: they do not talk about this issue in fear of not receiving free stuff to test in the future; slim chance but not zero.
It's really really a let down. I have high hopes on zen 3 after what I had with zen 2. Was really excited when i plucked in the 5950X into the socket. Then problems started to crop up with Bsod.
You are right that none of the reviewers mentioned anything about any sort of compatibility issues.
Maybe this intentionally for end users to find out, huh ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
623 Posts
I have a 5900X incoming tonight, but I'm not particularly nervous, I have and use three Zen+/Zen 2 processors all works very well. I fail to see why 5900X should be any different.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
I have a 5900X incoming tonight, but I'm not particularly nervous, I have and use three Zen+/Zen 2 processors all works very well. I fail to see why 5900X should be any different.
5000 series is a different beast altogether. We came from Zen 2 and it worked well too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,968 Posts
truly hope this comes down to a simple bios fix and not cpu's with issues. Im crossing my fingers for you guys and for a fix.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: MoW and Deepcuts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I also encounter instability issues with my Gigabyte b550m aorus pro and 5800x.
My system shuts downs randomly, most of the times after a heavy load and then restarting from the start menu.
I've got some WHEA-Logger errors previously which seem to be fixed with bios f11j(probably, didn't have the patience to test since it was still unstable), however shut down still occur.
Temps were ok each time, 60-70 degrees at most in normal load and with the newest bios it didn't even shut down under 100% cpu load.
First I tought is the psu, so I got another one, a 750w gold rated one which should be enough in this combination with an rx580 video card.
Then I've noticed a mistake that my ram is not in the QVL and borrowed two sticks that should work which are at a lower frequency, 3000 instead of 3600 and the shut downs are still there.
Core performance boost was also my only option to make this stable and xmp works too.
Gigabyte got me a copy-paste answer and all I can do is wonder now if it's worth getting another motherboard or this cpu has a problem afterall.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
623 Posts
Well, been running 5900X for four hours now, done all the benchmarking games and productivity and some surfing. I had exactly ONE WHEA error during that time. But that is one too much. I never had one with Zen+/Zen 2. My guess is bios needs some patching, but we will eventually know. No black screen or crash though, just that single error.

"
A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Unknown Error Source
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

The details view of this entry contains further information."

"
+System

-Provider
[ Name]Microsoft-Windows-WHEA-Logger
[ Guid]{c26c4f3c-3f66-4e99-8f8a-39405cfed220}

EventID19

Version0

Level3

Task0

Opcode0

Keywords0x8000000000000000

-TimeCreated
[ SystemTime]2020-11-27T10:14:03.0190543Z

EventRecordID34256

-Correlation
[ ActivityID]{c7ff0226-af93-4ce2-aaa3-7cc4f49d9d03}

-Execution
[ ProcessID]5412
[ ThreadID]5192

ChannelSystem

ComputerDESKTOP-XXXXXXX

-Security
[ UserID]S-1-5-19

-EventData

ErrorSource0

ApicId0

MCABank27

MciStat0x982000000002080b

MciAddr0x0

MciMisc0xd01a0ffe00000000

ErrorType10

TransactionType256

Participation0

RequestType0

MemorIO2

MemHierarchyLvl3

Timeout0

OperationType256

Channel256

Length936

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
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I just build my first pc and did everything with youtube videos. When i start my pc, there is no screen. HDMI is connected to GPU. I need help, i don't know what to do.
Before i started with the building, i did a bios update with this tutorial:
And the bios update was from here:
B550M AORUS PRO (rev. 1.0) Unterstützung | Mainboards - GIGABYTE Germany
The F11i version.
after that i started building and now when i press the power button, it turns on but there is no screen.
I tried to reset CMOS but it did not help. Anyone please help.
Also when i try to longpress the power button to shut the pc down, nothing happens. the power button just blinks
Maybe CPU dead? It accidentaly came out when i tried to take out my cpu cooler but could that have been the reason to break it? the pins look good so i dont think thats the reason.
what can i do?
Build: https://de.pcpartpicker.com/list/sBb2rr
Pics:
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
64,350 Posts
I just build my first pc and did everything with youtube videos. When i start my pc, there is no screen. HDMI is connected to GPU. I need help, i don't know what to do.
Before i started with the building, i did a bios update with this tutorial:
And the bios update was from here:
B550M AORUS PRO (rev. 1.0) Unterstützung | Mainboards - GIGABYTE Germany
The F11i version.
after that i started building and now when i press the power button, it turns on but there is no screen.
I tried to reset CMOS but it did not help. Anyone please help.
Also when i try to longpress the power button to shut the pc down, nothing happens. the power button just blinks
Maybe CPU dead? It accidentaly came out when i tried to take out my cpu cooler but could that have been the reason to break it? the pins look good so i dont think thats the reason.
what can i do?
Build: https://de.pcpartpicker.com/list/sBb2rr
Pics:
Please create your own thread for this as this is an older thread related to another users issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
We all have almost identical memories :\

Do you have any other memory set? So to check if the controller in the CPU covers these memories properly...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
I've tried two sets of memories, a 3200 CL14 B-Die set that I usually run in my old Intel box, and the new 3600 CL16 set I got for this build. Identical issue.

I'm trying for a RMA now, but AMD support takes like a week to respond for every response to the ticket.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #74
We all have almost identical memories :\

Do you have any other memory set? So to check if the controller in the CPU covers these memories properly...
If you read the 1st post, you will see I have tried with other 2 different memory KITs. No soup.

later edit:
With CPB disabled, my 64 GB G-Skill KIT works just fine at XMP or very tight manual timings with IF/UCLK 1800.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Good evening Gentlemen,

I am joining the circle of misery. New build for me coming from an X299 Intel HEDT platform, this is my first AMD system since the FX-51.

Stock settings (no OC, BIOS adjustments etc):
AMD 5950X (new)
Gigabyte AORUS X570 Xtreme (new)
Trident Z Neo Kit F4-3600C14Q-64GTZN (new)
WD_BLACK SN850 1TB (new)
EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra (recycled from working Intel rig)
Corsair AX1600i (recycled from working Intel rig)

Out of the box the BIOS recognized the 5950X with the factory installed F30 revision. I decided to roll the dice and install Windows without updating the BIOS. I couldn't even get through the preamble set-up without black screen restarts or WHEA BSOD.

I flashed the BIOS to revision F31I and tried a fresh install of Windows. Things appeared to be looking up, made it through the set-up and into Windows. Started updating/installing everything and received a random WHEA BSOD. Windows event viewer records Event 41, Kernel Power at every BSOD. Upon restarting Windows repaired something and removed my display driver. Continued my tasks and was good for about 5min before the next WHEA BSOD. Rebooted again, this time was able to work for 40 minutes before the next instance.

I haven't done many processor intensive tasks yet, however, max temp in HW monitor through installs etc. has been 34C (running 420mm AIO). Prior to finding this forum my first thought was memory... even though I was running stock (no XMP or manual tuning). I tried booting UEFI MemTestX86 and it couldn't find anything wrong.

Based on guidance here I disable Core Performance Boost and have been stable so far. I purchased directly from AMD so I will open a ticket with them and also with GIGABYTE.

I hope a BIOS update resolves this. I too find it hard to believe there could be this many defective processors in the wild...

Cheers,

Tony
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #76
Welcome to the club Todeseng3l
Nice and expensive setup right there.
Hope we all get our fix soon, one way or another.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Welcome to the club Todeseng3l
Nice and expensive setup right there.
Hope we all get our fix soon, one way or another.
I shot an email to Gamers Nexus asking them to investigate. Who knows if they will even read my email but it appears this is a pretty widespread issue, maybe they will take it on.

I seem to be stable, as everyone has mentioned by disabling Core Performance Boost. Would be interesting to tinker around with some manual OC settings to see if it is stable, could just be bad auto settings with CPB enabled?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #79
I know it is blasphemy, being on overlock.net and all, but I never tried overclocking any AMD CPUs so far.
While I am pretty sure I have tested almost all possible combination of BIOS settings, I never actually tried overlocking.
Clear CMOS and loaded setup default.
Only the Tweaker page was setup like in the image below. Rest default. 4 hours stable so far with CPB enabled (Auto). CPU temps under load max 85 Celsius. Reverted to no overclock and CPB disabled.
Let me know if this is a stupid thing to do with AMD.
Clock ratio on auto with same settings = same problem as before.
2467313
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
I shot an email to Gamers Nexus asking them to investigate. Who knows if they will even read my email but it appears this is a pretty widespread issue, maybe they will take it on.

I seem to be stable, as everyone has mentioned by disabling Core Performance Boost. Would be interesting to tinker around with some manual OC settings to see if it is stable, could just be bad auto settings with CPB enabled?
Disabling Cpb is akin to running a crippled 5xxx processor.
Looks like there's no fix yet for our woes.
 
61 - 80 of 792 Posts
Top