Overclock.net banner

12441 - 12460 of 12865 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
169 Posts
I don't think your CPU is faulty, the sudden reboot has been very common lately across vendors. I guess it comes from the AGESA code, and Fmax possibly worsen it
I also noticed that I get 350-400 points difference in CB20 if I have Fmax on. It scores worse with fmax on. I disabled it and we will see how it is.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
758 Posts
I also noticed that I get 350-400 points difference in CB20 if I have Fmax on. It scores worse with fmax on. I disabled it and we will see how it is.
Ryzen 5000 seem to perform the best with Motherboard Limits for PPT/TDC/EDC, it's rather fruitless trying to extend those
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
84 Posts
so im a little bit confused again with this mobo.. i thought it wouldnt post 4x8GB at 1900IF because of the 4 sticks and i tried 2x8. It is not posting either at 1900IF with 2 sticks whatever i try

But with the same settings it is not posting at 1900IF, it is actually posting at 2k IF, 4kc16. Im not really sure if its stable and i do not see an amazing performance uplift at this point, or maybe its the basic 1usmus timings that are not helping... yeah but in anycase the board is being a little weirdo as usually.
2469192
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
758 Posts
so im a little bit confused again with this mobo.. i thought it wouldnt post 4x8GB at 1900IF because of the 4 sticks and i tried 2x8. It is not posting either at 1900IF with 2 sticks whatever i try

But with the same settings it is not posting at 1900IF, it is actually posting at 2k IF, 4kc16. Im not really sure if its stable and i do not see an amazing performance uplift at this point, or maybe its the basic 1usmus timings that are not helping... yeah but in anycase the board is being a little weirdo as usually. View attachment 2469192
Raise VDDP to 950mV
 

·
Computer Enthusiast
Joined
·
2,904 Posts
I am getting random WHEA error, just one, after 10-12 hours of usage. Its just hard reset, no bsod no anything. The PC just resets itself. Do you guys think its the BIOS? Or my CPU is faulty? This is the error I get -> Event 18


A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
I've had this happen since installing 4007 so looks bios related. Didn't do this on 4001.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
758 Posts
what cpus are supported in 4007?
At least 2000-series and forward, it's tested, I don't know if anyone tested a 1000-series. I would guess it's only elder APUs and Athlons that has been removed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
what cpus are supported in 4007?
Helpful info about microcodes: A320 보드 마이크로 코드 분석표(ASUS,Biostar 생존)

╔═══════════════════════════════════════════╗
║ MC Extractor v1.52.1 r169 ║
╚═══════════════════════════════════════════╝

C7HWIFI.CAP (1/1)

╔═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
║ AMD ║
╟────┬──────────┬──────────┬────────────┬────────┬───────────┬──────╢
║ # │ CPUID │ Revision │ Date │ Size │ Offset │ Last ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 1 │ 00800F82 │ 0800820D │ 2019-04-16 │ 0xC80 │ 0x2A3000 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 2 │ 00800F12 │ 08001250 │ 2019-04-16 │ 0xC80 │ 0x2A3D00 │ No ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 3 │ 00800F11 │ 08001138 │ 2019-02-04 │ 0xC80 │ 0x2A4A00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 4 │ 00800F10 │ 0800100C │ 2017-01-31 │ 0xC80 │ 0x2A5700 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 5 │ 00800F00 │ 0800002A │ 2016-10-06 │ 0xC80 │ 0x2A6400 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 6 │ 00810F10 │ 08101016 │ 2019-04-30 │ 0xC80 │ 0x41C500 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 7 │ 00820F01 │ 08200103 │ 2019-04-17 │ 0xC80 │ 0x41D200 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 8 │ 00810F00 │ 08100004 │ 2016-11-20 │ 0xC80 │ 0x41DF00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 9 │ 00810F80 │ 08108002 │ 2018-06-05 │ 0xC80 │ 0x41EC00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 10 │ 00810F81 │ 08108109 │ 2019-04-17 │ 0xC80 │ 0x41F900 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 11 │ 00810F11 │ 08101102 │ 2018-11-06 │ 0xC80 │ 0x420600 │ No ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 12 │ 00A20F10 │ 0A201009 │ 2020-08-21 │ 0x15C0 │ 0x136BB00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 13 │ 00A20F00 │ 0A200025 │ 2020-01-21 │ 0x15C0 │ 0x136D100 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 14 │ 00870F10 │ 08701021 │ 2020-01-25 │ 0xC80 │ 0x137E200 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 15 │ 00870F00 │ 08700004 │ 2018-12-06 │ 0xC80 │ 0x137EF00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 16 │ 00860F00 │ 0860000E │ 2020-01-27 │ 0xC80 │ 0x14FBF00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 17 │ 00860F01 │ 08600106 │ 2020-06-19 │ 0xC80 │ 0x14FCC00 │ Yes ║
╟────┼──────────┼──────────┼────────────┼────────┼───────────┼──────╢
║ 18 │ 00A50F00 │ 0A50000B │ 2020-08-21 │ 0x15C0 │ 0x167BF00 │ Yes ║
╚════╧══════════╧══════════╧════════════╧════════╧═══════════╧══════╝
 

·
Overclocker
Joined
·
6,975 Posts
Hi guys,

How is this new 4007 BIOS for you?

I'm tempting to flash it and i have no issues now and i certainly don't want them lol. Which is why i ask here first.

Thnx.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
758 Posts
Works great with 5900X
 

·
Computer Enthusiast
Joined
·
2,904 Posts
I'm still getting one or two reboots daily - even with FMax disabled. Trying slightly higher SoC voltage.

Nothing in Event Viewer at all - just reboots.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
have you guys tried to turn on the spectre mitigations again with inspectre? ive seen some conficting benchmarks so i decided to turn them back on.

PBO limits = motherboard and curve optimizer -10 all cores resulted in 580 single core in R20

turning spectre mitigations back on i got 602
 

·
Computer Enthusiast
Joined
·
2,904 Posts
have you guys tried to turn on the spectre mitigations again with inspectre? ive seen some conficting benchmarks so i decided to turn them back on.

PBO limits = motherboard and curve optimizer -10 all cores resulted in 580 single core in R20

turning spectre mitigations back on i got 602
I have - my single core result was about 10 points better - but my chip is a bit rubbish, my best was only 517!? (7187 Multi).

This is interesting as Spectre requires elevated access at the bios/EFI level, which (as far as I'm aware) cannot be done remotely, requiring physical access to our machines. So unless your computer is somewhere where someone can do that - surely we don't need the mitigation?

The highest any of my cores performed was about 4.4GHz in the SC test, usually core 3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
i closed a few background services and the new latency results make more justice to my awesome overclocking "skills" :)
View attachment 2469360
This has me tempted to open up the 5600x I bought at Microcenter last week, but it was mostly just an insurance plan as I’ve been holding out on trying to get a 5900x. Really want to get to running 2000 FCLK on either my x470 C7H or my X570 Unify.

Can 4007 still be flashed backward to older an older version, or is it actually one-way at this point?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
169 Posts
Do you guys think we will get a new bios before Christmas?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
758 Posts
Do you guys think we will get a new bios before Christmas?
No, AMD has announced AGESA 1.1.9.0 but that one is said to be ready for January

All the recent Asus bioses runs great for me though, on C7H/5900X/32GB 3800Mem/RTX3070, B550-F/3900X/32GB 3800 mem/RTX2070 Super and X470-Prime Pro/3700X/32GB 3133 mem/GTX1070
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
169 Posts
Whaat? So I am stuck with this whea crash bullshit until January? Omg I guess I'll just fill a RMA request.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
758 Posts
Whaat? So I am stuck with this whea crash bullshit until January? Omg I guess I'll just fill a RMA request.
I bit the bullet and did a fresh install on C7H for 5900X, no WHEA errors, not a single one and not a single reboot
 
12441 - 12460 of 12865 Posts
Top