Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so my room temp is around 23c. My idle core air cooled temps is around 40c with a e6300 @ 2.33 stable. load is 47c

How close to room temps can WC get me?

What setup would?

Thanks

·
Programmer
2,869 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by m3nf View Post
From what i read on posts you would get a few c above room temp on water cooling. So around 27 and 37 i go for. But hay i am a noob here lol, but search helped me on this one

You're actually pretty close. It would depend on what his WC loop consisted of, but with water you'll be really close to room temperatures with the right setup.

Even still, if you cheaped out on a few components of the loop, you would get better temps than what you are now.

How much would you want to spend?

·
Registered
529 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm thinking that $400 would be the max, but less is better as long as it doesn't mean less quality.

I like coolit's freezone setup, but I have heard that there may be pump problems. So I was considering tec cooling combined with water cooling, but coolit seems to be the only one building it?

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by john55576 View Post
Ok, so my room temp is around 23c. My idle core air cooled temps is around 40c with a e6300 @ 2.33 stable. load is 47c

What setup would?

Thanks
I have a Opty 165 which runs hotter than a Core 2 Duo.

My room temps are about 23-24C. My idle temps are usually .5C above ambient. My loads temps are like 30-31C. Oh, plus my PC is nearly silent.

With a good loop, you can get your temps way down.

·
Premium Member
7,862 Posts
If you build a custom kit, with say, a Dtek block, a killer pump, a 3x120mm rad and all, i've seen people get as cool as ambients on idle.

·
Premium Member
8,252 Posts
Quote: