Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings OCN!

I'm going to apologize in advance, because I know there are tons and tons of threads asking for help on buys. I am going to do my very best & narrow the choices to as low as possible.

I am looking for real life experience & general opinions as well. Like many others, I am really new to headphones, but I am in a situation where headphones for my PC are necessary. I figure, if I'm going to spend the money, I might as well get the best bang for buck.

Here is my search criteria for head phone purchase:
  • Noise cancelling: I need them for when I study, so blocking background noise would be a huge plus. I say "plus" because I am noticing the noise cancelling sets tend to be much higher in cost (understandably), but that brings me to my next point.
  • Cost: Ideally I wanted to spend under $50.00 but I am coming to see I may need to spend more then that. I do not want to exceed $75.00 at all.
  • Wired headphones are fine with me. I do not require wireless. Just in case anyone has a suggestion that is not on my list, since wired should be a money saver.
HD 201: Link
  • Pro: Low Cost - $18.28 (Free shipping)
  • Con: Assuming poor quality
RS120: Link
  • Pro: Cost meets criteria
  • Con: Not noise cancelling (I think)
HD515: Link
  • Pro: Best price deal I've seen. $129.95 reduced to $65.47
  • Con: Still, for the cost, is this noise cancelling?
Website search refined search results page(s):
Based on Newegg's search for "noise cancelling", the Sennheiser result is only 2 matches: PXC250 ($180) and PXC350 ($250) which is way out of budget.

I would prefer to stick with Sennheiser, and I like the H515 so far.

If anybody could provide further information to show me what I am doing wrong, or if I am about to make poor purchases, that would be MUCH appreciated.