Overclock.net banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
447 Posts
BURN!

Sorry, I'm just bored to death, and want to troubleshoot some network stuff! I'm going to give my opinion here... There is some good info in this thread, and any one of the ideas may be the cause. I am a systems/network admin, and I always find that it's good to get back to the basics when dealing with this stuff. There are 3 really good tools that will confirm network connectivity between machines: PING, IPCONFIG, and TRACERT.

The first thing you need to do is confirm that each machine is on the same network. If they are all getting IP addresses via DHCP from a router, then they probably are, but it's always good to check. Go to start->run->cmd and hit enter. This will bring up the command prompt. Type "ipconfig /all" and het enter. Write down all the following info from each machine:

IP Address
Subnet mask
default gateway
DNS server(s)

Most routers give out 192.168.0.X addresses (or 192.168.1.X). Each machine should have a different X values, a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0, and a default gateway and dns server of 192.168.0.1 (the router IP).

Once you have verified that each machine is on the same network, try to ping each machine FROM each machine. At the command prompt, type "ping 192.168.0.X" and hit enter. (replace the X with the appropriate number). The machines should all reply. If you find one that doesn't, you may have found the issue.

If a machine doesn't respond to ping, there's not a lot of reasons why. Usually, there is either a physical problem with a cable, the NIC, or there is something blocking the ping, like a software firewall.

If everything responds to ping OK, then we can try browsing to IP addresses. Let me know how this goes, and we'll go to the next step if needed.

· Registered
447 Posts
Do you have a shared folder on the computer you are trying to double click?