Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, my family is finally upgrading phones, and my parents have told my sister and I that we can finally get texting and/or data if we pay for them ourselves. I have no problem paying for texting, as currently I rack up about $10 a month on average because we don't have a plan. I'd probably get unlimited so that I wouldn't have to worry anymore.

However, I'm strongly debating whether or not I want to get a smartphone. I'm a college student that is really busy (19 credits/semester, officer positions in a couple of activities, and recently joined a fraternity), so having mobile access to email is really nice. Currently I do this with my Zune HD, as my university has one of the best wireless networks in the country. However, there are still plenty of times where I can't get a network (airports being the worst offenders, or when I'm sitting on the quad), so then I'm stuck with nothing.

Additionally, I hate the fact that there's no dedicated email app for the Zune and that the browser can't store any passwords. As such, I'm always typing in my very long password on my university's google apps access page, which really slows things down.

Finally, I'm starting to heavily use my Google calendar. I understand that most smartphones can easily sync up directly with multiple Google calendars, which probably wouldn't be the case if I bought your typical quick messaging phone.

Other than a calendar and email, I wouldn't really need data for any other purpose, so I'd just get the cheapest plan available. Luckily with AT&T you can still log onto wi-fi, which is probably how I'd usually be getting internet access.