Overclock.net banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· 10 year OCN Vet
3,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I've been following and updating on Slackware Current for many months. I've been using Slackware as my Main Daily Driver since ~1999. I'm enthusastic about Current, and LiveSlak, but overjoyed to report 15.0 is almost here. Keep in mind that Slackware is made by a few developers but with only ONE at the head with ultimate veto power and integration strategy. RC1 is like most distros' Stable. It's a full boat install, nore tools than most even can imagine, all integrated and exceptionally unaltered and vanilla.

Even custom kernels can be easily built with no exterior customizations directly from source code at kernel.org. There is zero wait time for graphics drivers and any other desirable app to finally make it to some repository. It's trivial to build any app to a package from just raw source with whatever config suits you, not somebody else.

You can read about it at Phoronix here - Slackware 15.0 Coming Soon With RC1 Released - Phoronix Forums

or from Distrowatch here - Development Release: Slackware Linux 15.0 RC1 (DistroWatch.com News)

or directly at Slackware.com. You can check out the excellent support community here - Slackware Forum

Hope to see some of you there and here :)

· 10 year OCN Vet
3,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
LONG OVERDUE UPDATE - My apologies for not keeping up with the message here but today, Slackware 15.0 was upgraded to RC3. As much as I love Slackware for being so powerful, stable and solid, this Release Candidate is the current result of the progression Current (Testing) has been on for over a year. It is the finest Slackware already finer than most final releases have ever been. It has taken time because Patrick is a perfectionist, but the wait is already worth it.