Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
962 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey people, first of all i'm new here and i'm a happy owner of a Intel i5 750 on a Asus p7p55d LE, 4gb Kingston DDR3 1600mhz comp.

I am pretty new to overclocking, but got quite some knowledge of hardware in general, so i'm not a newb.. Now to the point:

I oc'd my i5 750 to 4ghz yesterday, and ran Orthos stress-test.. Temps went up to between 75 and 80 degrees on full load, idle is about ~45 degrees. I am using a Coolermaster Hyper TX3 CPU fan. I will buy a Corsair h50 somewhere next week, which would push my temps down by quite a bit..

The thing i am wondering about, am i fine/save with temps of about ~45c Idle and ~75/80c Full load, or should i clock a little less.. to 3,8gz perhaps.. so my temps would lower a little?

This question might have been asked a couple times before, but i am kind of new to this bussiness, and i thought this would be the place to be to put my question

Thanks in advance!
Regards,

Rck

·
Registered
524 Posts
You should be fine. If it passes 25x Linx (never used Orthos, so I can't comment on it) without going over ~85C, you should not have to worry about temperature.

If you start getting thermal errors, you will know.

The good news is that you will likely see temperatures of 10C or more lower during normal use at full load. Stress testing programs are exactly that - they are designed to hit your hardware harder than anything you would normally do.

·
Registered
409 Posts
That is a bit high IMO, but if you're getting a H50 soon, then for normal use it'll be fine as long as it's stable. I take it you're not running full load 24/7 anyway.

If you run it like this for a few years, then you can start to worry bout degrading your chip.

·
Registered
3,315 Posts
welcome to OCN... nice overclock...

you should fill out your system details in User cp w/ ur hardware... would be alot easier for people to give you easy help and solutions...