Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, phase change newbie here.

I finally made up my mind and decided to move from TEC to SS phase change to cool my next core i7 build

I'm buying a custom unit from LittleDevil, he'll mod a single stage inside the lower part of the Lian-Li V2110B for me, I'm really trilled about it, I've been a fan of LittleDevil's work from long ago.

I've decided to change hardware too, although I might use some components fom my previous setup.

Here's what I have in mind:

Intel Core i7 920
Gigabyte X58-EXTREME
3x2GB 1600/1866 DDR 3 (undecided what's best? Corsair/OCZ/Kingston?)
2xGeforce 280 GTX (from my previous build)
4x1TB Seagate 7200 RPM RAID 0+1
Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Lian-Li V2110B

I also plan to setup a watercooling rig for chipset and graphic cards, LittleDevil is gonna drill a 3x120 mm radiator grill on top of the case to hold a Black Ice 360mm compact radiator

I was wandering if someone has or plans to have a similar setup, my goal is to OC Core i7 920 @ 4.5 ghz, will I be able to reach those speeds?, I've been told that this unit can normally hold 250W @ -32ºC and that he'll try to tune my single stage for high loads.

Any ideas of how much heat would the SS phase change have to move at those speeds? do you have any suggestions regarding the best RAM for OC? Also, what's the max sub-zero save voltage for the core i7 920?

Thank you very much for your input, pics coming soon!

·
Registered
392 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterWar View Post
Hi, phase change newbie here.

I was wandering if someone has or plans to have a similar setup, my goal is to OC Core i7 920 @ 4.5 ghz, will I be able to reach those speeds?, I've been told that this unit can normally hold 250W @ -32ºC and that he'll try to tune my single stage for high loads.