Overclock.net banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I was wondering if it would be possible to swap the tracking sensor of the Steelseries Sensei RAW with the sensor in the Zowie EC1 (not the crappy eVo edition).

I love the Omron switches and the ambidextrous design of the Sensei, but the sensor is a piece of crap. It fails at high swipe speeds and the acceleration is killer on my accuracy :[

The EC1 has never failed on me no matter how fast I swipe it, but the switches broke on me and don't respond to my clicks. I also prefer prediction on my mice which is why I would like to swap the sensors.

So before opening up any of the mice, I would like to know if anyone on this forum has had experience with swapping hardware of mice.

In summary:
- Swap the tracking sensor of the Sensei with the EC1.

Thanks,
AuTra

·
Banned
2,481 Posts
I'm not an expert on this subject, but I believe the only functional swaps are the ones where a mouse uses a dual PCB design and you just remove the PCB containing the sensor, swap it with a new one, then wire the two back together again while the section that contains the switches is never disturbed.

If you were to replace the entire PCB, the button positions and scroll wheel position would be incompatible.

There's a picture of some guy's kinzu-adder below to show you what I mean. Also, if you're talking about "dream swaps", the zowie EC1 original definitely wouldn't be on my list. It would be swapping a g400 or Savu sensor into either a Xai, Kana, or Kinzu shell.

·
Registered
1,784 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0ach View Post

I'm not an expert on this subject, but I believe the only functional swaps are the ones where a mouse uses a dual PCB design and you just remove the PCB containing the sensor, swap it with a new one, then wire the two back together again while the section that contains the switches is never disturbed.