Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to get my 5950x past 4300Mhz. I have an Aorus Master B550, and I am stress testing with Prime95. I have SMT and CPB disabled.

I have tried many different combinations of cpu vcore and llc settings. I'm trying to get down to the minimum voltage under load that is still stable. For most of these intermediate settings, I get a single error in Prime95 when initially starting the stress test.

Is this because of vdroop when all 16 threads begin simultaneously? There is no way to get Prime95 to stagger them, so I cannot test that.

What is the significance of a single error (out of 16 workers) as soon as I begin testing? The other 15 workers are fine at these settings. How do I fix this?

·
Totally Tubular
1,637 Posts
That is your weakest core. Just like each CPU has better cores that can run higher clocks, there are also cores that suck on each CPU.

You don't actually need to be Prime95 stable unless you're going to be running Prime95 on a daily basis. Most people don't care about being Prime95 stable any more, when it used to be the standard for stability. If you do want to be stable in Prime95 though, you have to cater to the lowest common denominator, which is that weakest core. You will need to either increase the voltage or decrease the clock speed until that core is stable.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is your weakest core. Just like each CPU has better cores that can run higher clocks, there are also cores that suck on each CPU.