Overclock.net banner

Thermaltake Big Typhoon

340 Views 7 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  mfb412
I've been using the Big Typhoon for a few years now and my temps are pretty reasonable, Q6600 3.2GHz 30C/60C idle/load (CPU and BT lapped), but I'm looking to push it further and with it getting warmer out I'm looking to beef up my cooling.

How does the BT stack up against the best of today, would it be worth changing to something newer?
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
If your temps are safe and your happy then there is zero reason to change.
If you mod your BT, you can get great temps. My sig-rig loads at 46 degrees on average. 42 when room is cool w/ AC on.

I think that those temps are comparable to a TRUE or Xiggy with 120's.

The 120x25 is just a hollow shroud. It(as well as the CPU is lapped, and has styrofoam around the gaps on either side of the fin arrays to direct air thru the fins instead of around them. It is a bit loud though because it isnt hooked to my controller.
See less See more
Quote:

Originally Posted by KinZee
View Post

If you mod your BT, you can get great temps. My sig-rig loads at 46 degrees on average. 42 when room is cool w/ AC on.

I think that those temps are comparable to a TRUE or Xiggy with 120's.

The 120x25 is just a hollow shroud. It(as well as the CPU is lapped, and has styrofoam around the gaps on either side of the fin arrays to direct air thru the fins instead of around them. It is a bit loud though because it isnt hooked to my controller.

wow that look fantastic :O
See less See more