Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have got a Server PC/Fiery here, I think its quite old (but no older than '03), but i want it and it doesnt work. I switch it on, the green mobo light switches on, the fans go and it has a front lcd panel says 05-04-22, I dont know what this means.

It has one VGA port on the back from the mobo (onboard GPU I guess), but I cant get any output to the monitor, it just says no video ouput.


Here are the info I can see so far:

60GB IDE Drive (which doesnt apear to be spinning)
2 Sticks of RAM
Win XP Pro on the side
It says Intel RC82545EM on one of the black chips on the mobo
It says Server Works SWC SB7440-P01 somewhere else on the mobo

Please help.

Thanks.
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
See if you can find the motherboard that you are using and look for a manual online.
 

·
 
Joined
·
29,532 Posts
Hmm... (Bad way to lead in posts, but oh well
)
Are you able to fire it up outside the case?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snerp View Post
See if you can find the motherboard that you are using and look for a manual online.
I just dont know what the motherboard is, it only says Server Works SWC SB7440-P01, which has very little on the net. If I could just get into the bios everything would be fine.

Quote:

Originally Posted by gonX View Post
Hmm... (Bad way to lead in posts, but oh well
)
Are you able to fire it up outside the case?
I havent tried taking it outside the case, but what would that do?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,917 Posts
hmm i have always wondered if you can use server pc's to run like normal computers just faster.
Hope you get it workin. lol my Psu is outta a server.
 

·
 
Joined
·
29,532 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by OCZedd View Post
I havent tried taking it outside the case, but what would that do?
Well, disconnect everything, take out of case, connect everything, fire it up.

And it's a bit hard to say what it does.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Doesn't seem to be a broken caps. I just dont know what to do, I have run out of options. It boots, fan spin and lights are on, but no output. Do you think the cpu is dead? Can you get any output if the cpu is dead?

Quote:

Originally Posted by gonX View Post
Well, disconnect everything, take out of case, connect everything, fire it up.

And it's a bit hard to say what it does.
I dont know if I can, because the power swtich wires are extremely short. And another thing the DVD Drive opens and closes if its anything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,937 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by gonX View Post
Well, disconnect everything, take out of case, connect everything, fire it up.

And it's a bit hard to say what it does.
Also ensures nothing grounding on the case and allows you to remove potentially faulty components, reapply as5, etc. In general lets you work with the system alot easier.
 

·
 
Joined
·
29,532 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by OCZedd View Post
Doesn't seem to be a broken caps. I just dont know what to do, I have run out of options. It boots, fan spin and lights are on, but no output. Do you think the cpu is dead? Can you get any output if the cpu is dead?

I dont know if I can, because the power swtich wires are extremely short. And another thing the DVD Drive opens and closes if its anything.
Get a jumper... Jump the power wires, the electricity is so small.
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
try playing with the amount and location of the RAM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Well before I start shifting mobo's, is there anything else i could try?

Edit: You mean moving RAM slots?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,937 Posts
clear cmos and/or remove CMOS CR032 battery.

try booting without HDD connected up.

the RC82545EM is a network controller.
 

·
 
Joined
·
29,532 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by OCZedd View Post
Well before I start shifting mobo's, is there anything else i could try?

Edit: You mean moving RAM slots?
Yes, try the RAM in some other slots/removing some sticks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
OK, I will try moving some of the RAM Sticks and clearing the CMOS.

Thanks so far guys
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I tried to clear CMOS and moved the RAM to slots 3 and 4, unplugged the HDD, but still nothing on the monitor. Just says 05-04-22 on the front LCD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
I found out some good info about it:

http://www.mdm-btg.com/K-IP-901.pdf

Main Specs:

CPU: 2.0Ghz Pentium 4
RAM: 2x256MB (Upgradable to 1GB)
HDD: 60GB IDE
GPU: ColorFORCE 8050
Extras: 16xDVD Drive
Windows XP Pro
Network Card

Also there is more info here:
http://bpg.minoltausa.com/eprise/mai...&Category=&PC=

Look at the models IP-901 Only! It has all of these:

Quote:
IP-901 Color Guide February 10, 2005
IP-901 Configuration Guide February 10, 2005
IP-901 Fiery Color Reference Guide February 10, 2005
IP-901 Job Management Guide February 10, 2005
IP-901 Printing Guide February 10, 2005
IP-901 Quick Start Guide February 10, 2005
IP-901 Release Notes Version 1.1 February 10, 2005
IP-901 User Docs November 21, 2006
IP-901 User Software Installation Guide
Edit: Whoa, sorry for the triple post
 

·
SNERP!!!
Joined
·
4,183 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by OCZedd View Post
I found out some good info about it:

http://www.mdm-btg.com/K-IP-901.pdf

Main Specs:

CPU: 2.0Ghz Pentium 4
RAM: 2x256MB (Upgradable to 1GB)
HDD: 60GB IDE
GPU: ColorFORCE 8050
Extras: 16xDVD Drive
Windows XP Pro
Network Card

Edit: Whoa, sorry for the triple post

It's your thread, you do what you want!


anyways, I don't really know what more to try. I'd say just keep digging to find a manual for it so you can figure out what that code on the frond LCD is.

Maybe try one RAM stick in the slot one and that's it. if that stick doesn't work try the other one in slot 1
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Quote:


Originally Posted by PROBN4LYFE
View Post

So it's a printer server...hijack the internals and put them in a new board

Do you reckon I should get a new board? Have any suggestions? I dont know a lot about server mobo's.

Quote:


Originally Posted by Snerp
View Post

It's your thread, you do what you want!


anyways, I don't really know what more to try. I'd say just keep digging to find a manual for it so you can figure out what that code on the frond LCD is.

Maybe try one RAM stick in the slot one and that's it. if that stick doesn't work try the other one in slot 1

I think this is the best manual:

http://bpg.minoltausa.com/eprise/main/KMBS/Support_Center/Manuals/Pages/Attachments/IP-901UserSoftwareInstall.pdf
 
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
Top