Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total newb and been following this guide here since I heard the 9900k and 10700k are pretty much identical with just some minor changes:
How can you overclock your Intel 9th Gen CPU up to 5GHz with MSI Z390 motherboards? Here are a few tips you should know!

I ran 5.1GHz all core, 47 Ring Ratio with 1.29 Vcore, LLC Auto and it passed Cinebench R23, temps were normal like it wasn't OC'ed. I haven't tried to daily-stable test it with Prime95 but I just want to push straight to 5.2 now.

After I entered 52 Ratio the machine won't even POST, I gradually increased the Vcore 0.005 - 0.01 step at a time and it booted into the login screen at about 1.31, but dumped a BSOD right after.
At 1.335 I can enter Windows and mess around, but running Cinebench will BSOD the system immediately.
At 1.345 Cinebench will run for 10-15 seconds before BSOD
At 1.365 Cinebench can complete 60% of the first render before BSOD
At 1.380 Cinebench can complete the first render, 10 seconds of the second render before BSOD. The highest temp recorded was 91 during the first render, which is not something I'm happy but still can live with, considering it just using an air cooler (NH-D15)

And now I'm already sitting on 1.390, Ring Ratio 48, the rest are the same. Temps are 3 - 4°C higher than normal while idling. Do I keep increasing the Vcore till it passes Cinebench? Or am I doing something wrong?

Here's how my BIOS looking like:
Font Display device Multimedia Screenshot Composite material
Product Font Display device Multimedia Electronic device
Font Technology Screenshot Multimedia Advertising
Product Font Software Electronic device Technology

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
*update: on Vcore 1.390 Cinebench crashes after 15 seconds of running. When I click Run again, BSOD. Temps are off the chart, I'm looking at 96-98 just by that 15 seconds.