Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few months back my trusty old 755 socket mobo died and I elected to build a new machine on a 1155 Asus p8z68 deluxe. The old hard drives from my 755 are full of valuable and important data. I put my operating system on a new crucial m4, and now I'm trying to hook up the two old hard drives and I'm hoping someone can steer me through the process since I've never done such a thing before. It just makes me nervous to think that all that data is looming there seeminly "Tied" to a different motherboard and I'm afraid to haul off and start tweaking with raid settings when I could potentially erase my files.... or something....

Guru needed.

·
Premium Member
10,324 Posts
I've never had a problem with switching mobo's on RAID drives before.

Edit: Just did a quick search and it all comes up saying as long as it's the same raid controller and ich9/ich10 then you should be fine.

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by imcclaskey View Post

the intel raid menu isn't recognizing them as raid disks... should it do that automatically?
You may have to place them into an array... but do NOT select to delete data.

Why do you have important data that is not backed up!?

·
Banned
4,564 Posts
If you're migrating the drives to the same raid controller it will be fine other wise it will not work.

Also, as duckie said: Y U NO HAS BACKUP!?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
well i guess it was technological hubris after all i never thought that if the MOTHERBOARD failed, I wouldn't be able to access my data... i entered the raid configuration utility on my new motherboard and it gave me only two options. "Delete raid system" or "create new raid system"... Neither of which sound like they'd preserve the data on the old drives.

·
Banned
4,564 Posts