Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My current rig is listed in my signature, but put simply its a very common combination of i5 2500K, 8GB RAM and a GTX970.

I currently game on a 24" monitor at 1920x1080. I feel like my rig still performs excellently at 1080P, although I recenlty bought Rise of the Tomb Raider and that is the first game that has really challenged it. The game is still very playabe on near max settings, but I do get frequent dips below 60fps.

The main thing for me is that I feel like I have been gaming at 1080P for over 10 years now and I feel like games in 2017 dont really look better than the orginal Crysis did back in 2007. Am I nuts or is this a common perception? I will admit than Unreal Engine 4 is extremely nice, but games like Witcher 3 and Rise of the Tomb Raider dont 'wow' me like I thought they would graphically.

I think this is because maybe I am more influenced by the clarity of high resolutions than by additional effects like motion blur and ambient occlusion etc.

The main point

I am considering making an upgrade to my rig soon to play at 1440P, or holding out and just making the massive leap to 4K gaming.

1. I could buy a 1440P monitor for my current PC, could it handle it?
  2. I could get a 1440P monitor and then upgrade the GPU later.
  3. I could get a budget 4K monitor now and run it at lower resolution in games until I can buy a whole new PC (Good investment?)
  4. I could keep gaming at 1080P on my current rig for a couple more years (basically run it into the ground) whilst saving up to buy a whole 4K Rig+Monitor when 4K becomes more mainstream.
Basically I just need some advice on what would be a smart decision for me. I'm keen to see a MAJOR graphical improvement to my games, rather than an incremental gain.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by !TopGear! View Post