Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
550 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I need some help like the title says. I'm a bit of an amateur with server grade stuff so be gentle lol. Anyways, I have 5 drives running in Raid 5 on an LSI raid card (with an Intel SAS expander as well) a few days ago my raid alarm went off notifying me a drive had failed power up. Now my questions are, did I lose my array completely or can I just pop in a new drive and rebuild my existing array?. I tried to access my files but obviously I can't with the array being damaged. Any help or info would be appreciated. Here are a few pics showing the status of the array from today

Thanks

Font Parallel Electronic device Electric blue Pattern

Personal computer Computer Font Rectangle Display device

Font Rectangle Material property Tints and shades Symmetry

· Registered
766 Posts
If just one drive fails in RAID5, the array is rebuildable. That's the whole point of RAID in the first place - protect data from a drive failure.

Unless the data is critical, best course of action would be to shut the system down and order a replacement drive ASAP. Plug in new drive and start rebuilding the array. If you keep running the system and another drive fails, you will lose data, guaranteed. (unless you had RAID6, in which case you can lose 2 drives, lol).

I'm not familiar with LSI, but I had the same thing happen to me with PERC H700 (which is made by LSI, iirc, just diff firmwave) and the array continued to boot and function in the degraded state with reduced performance. I didn't have alarm setup, hence did not catch the failed drive for who knows how long. New drive in, array rebuilt, as if nothing ever happened. Maybe LSI forbids operation of degraded arrays, or maybe there's a setting there preventing it, don't know.

· Banned
1,185 Posts