Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I a complete noob and just built my first rig. I have some questions about using the 2 drives in my system. My plan is to use the ssd for Windows 7 and a game or 2 and to use my HDD for everything else. However I am already running into issues with the HDD. It seems like everything I direct to this drive either the drive freezes up or is super slow.. almost like there is some sort of conflict going on. For instance I use a video chat program called camfrog. I originally installed it to the ssd then decided to uninstall and put it on the HDD. Halfway through the installation it just froze up.

My question is what can i put on the HDD and what shouldnt I put on it? Mind you I am a complete computer noob. You guys seem very helpful and Sean you already answered a question in your ssd optimization thread. If you could possibly give me a noobie guide to how I should be using these 2 drives I would love you forever! Thanks in advance!!

·
Not new to Overclock.net
78,992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdfw1 View Post

Ok so I a complete noob and just built my first rig. I have some questions about using the 2 drives in my system. My plan is to use the ssd for Windows 7 and a game or 2 and to use my HDD for everything else. However I am already running into issues with the HDD. It seems like everything I direct to this drive either the drive freezes up or is super slow.. almost like there is some sort of conflict going on. For instance I use a video chat program called camfrog. I originally installed it to the ssd then decided to uninstall and put it on the HDD. Halfway through the installation it just froze up.