Overclock.net banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Gamer
1,282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious how intensive or possible a setup like this would be for home use? I'm getting to the point where my kids are needing their own PC's for school. I like the idea of setting up the vm environment once, the extra security, and control over their environments. Is this plausible? Also would it be possible to setup a VPN along with this? This way I can setup another thin client for my parents, for the light computer tasks they do. I'll admit I have very little knowledge when it comes to this aspect of computing. This may be way uneconomical, or not possible. Some input, advice, or reality check would be great.

· Registered
4,127 Posts
I'm curious how intensive or possible a setup like this would be for home use? I'm getting to the point where my kids are needing their own PC's for school. I like the idea of setting up the vm environment once, the extra security, and control over their environments. Is this plausible? Also would it be possible to setup a VPN along with this? This way I can setup another thin client for my parents, for the light computer tasks they do. I'll admit I have very little knowledge when it comes to this aspect of computing. This may be way uneconomical, or not possible. Some input, advice, or reality check would be great.
Depends on how fast you want it to be. 2 cores and 4-6gb of ram per vm is my usual go to for web browsing and light work/multitasking. Anything more 4-6 cores and 8+gb of ram.

· Registered
4,127 Posts
Let's say you need 6 vms. A dedicated machine running 32-64 gb of ram any 10-12core cpu should do. That 4-6 gb of ram advice is to give them head room for multitasking. 2 cores might be a lil slow but depends on how far you wanna go honestly.

· Gamer
1,282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·