Overclock.net banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well guys, i'm thinking about making a waterblock for the watercooling that i'm making this spring and i was wondering about what thickness would be good for the waterchamber. and also. would aluminum also work for a waterchamber, or even anywhere else on the waterblock, because its a heck or alot cheaper. thanx alot guys for your help in advance

·
Premium Member
2,485 Posts
Copper cools much better, but essentially they are the same. Just do not mix copper and aluminum in the same loop. That will cause corrosion.
As long as you keep the chamber the same area as you tube. IE, a 1/2" diameter tube is about .25" in area (5.x.5), so if the chamber is 1" wide, keep it .25" deep.

·
Premium Member
13,422 Posts
Here is some actual data and equations on heat transfer that I put together. (I'm a physics student)

Thermal Conductivity of Substances (k in the equation):
(J/m*s*C)
Aluminum: 240
Copper: 390
Iron/Steel: 46
Silver: 420
Water: .57
Air: .024

·
Registered
8 Posts
I made my own waterblock out of aluminum. Aluminum is way easier to machine than copper. My chamber was based off this design

The more material you use, the more heat it will absorb. I used two half inch thick plates(2"x 2" x .5") and one .25 inch thick one. One of the half inch thick plates was used for the chamber and one for the bottom. The top plate was used for the barbs, and mounting holes.

So yeah, theres nothing wrong with building an aluminum block. If you want max heat cond. use more aluminum, but remember to use an aluminum radiator. I'll try to get pics of my setup soon.

·
Premium Member
13,422 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by JayJay

I made my own waterblock out of aluminum. Aluminum is way easier to machine than copper. My chamber was based off this design