Overclock.net banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,017 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm playing with the idea of water cooling my E6600. The Water Cooling Essentials thread has some outdated articles.

Some questions:
  • How much might it cost to water cool a socket 775?
  • What noise can I expect? The radiator will have some fan noise...
  • Leakage concerns?
  • Maintenance required? (How often should the fluid be changed, etc?)

·
Registered
5,508 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by version2 View Post
I'm playing with the idea of water cooling my E6600. The Water Cooling Essentials thread has some outdated articles.

Some questions:
  • How much might it cost to water cool a socket 775?
  • What noise can I expect? The radiator will have some fan noise...
  • Leakage concerns?
  • Maintenance required? (How often should the fluid be changed, etc?)
I'm not an expert by any means, but I think a mid-range to high end watercooling setup will cost you around 300USD or so.

I will be doing my first water cooling loop within the next week so I will know much more as it comes.

I think generally as long as you get good fittings, decent clamps and the appropriate tubing leakages and that sort of stuff won't be much of an issue.

I think the best idea is adding the UV coolant to detect minor leaks. Generally speaking before you put the WC setup in your case and all that fun stuff you will leak test it for 24 hours before use.

I also beleive that maintenance is usually done every 4-6 months or around there, whereby changing of coolant, cleaning out your loop and maybe even using new clamps is required.

hope this helps.

jam3s

·
Registered
2,241 Posts
-For a low end, high performing system, 200 dollars
-I don't know how fast you run your current fans but going from a stock 88cfm 33/34 db heatsink fan to 2 far quieter yates is a big difference (for me).
-leak test, correctly assemble, maintain = no leaks unless something unexpected happens