Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
744 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to watercooling and i have custom loop i build it myself but im rooke when it comes to pumps.

currently i have Alphacool DC-LT 2600 Ultra low noise Ceramic. and it so weak but silent it cools cpu great but gpu its not that great
water that comes out from gpu block is so warm compared to what comes in i have 1x 280mm x 30mm rad and 1x360x 30mm rad from alphacool
also an alphacool eisbaer pump/res thing that i want to replace just for cpu waterblock. and gpu has alphacool gpx-n 1080 m19

i need pump to be quiet but also want peformance so far what i came up is alphacool laing DDC 310 it has different tops and configs. i already have reservoir so i dont want res pump combo.

please feel free to suggest me good long lasting quiet pumps.

·
Shooting down fallacies
8,208 Posts
A D5 isn't going to be the quietest and most durable. Another option would be the Swiftech MCP50X. The MCP50X is about as quiet as the D5 at lower speeds, but is a bit louder above 75% or so. But even it that, it will be quieter than a DDC. Noise has always been the knock on DDC, as well as the fact that they run hot at lower speeds to a point that can be damaging. Running them at higher speeds solves the heat, but also has them sounding what many consider less than pleasant.

·
Watercooled
872 Posts
I prefer the DDC because is small and have better head pressure than a D5. Below 3000RPM the noise isn't a problem if is decoupled from the case. The heat can be solve doing some holes in the casing or getting something like a EK ELITE that come with the heatsink, res and pump. All DDC have similar construction. personally i will get the DDC 3.2 that is one of the most powerful and adjust the speed with a motherboard header. A DDC 3.2 will make the same noise if is set to the same speed than low power version of a DDC and you have more "power" available if you need it

·
WaterCooling Enthusiast
395 Posts