Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello yall great site you have here I'm glad I stumbled upon it. Anyways I have a firewall on my computer and sometimes when I'm on it I get weird connection attempts from ip's that are unfamiliar I was wondering what I should do about them if anything at all besides blocking there ip's and what they are trying to access. I mostly see system connection attempts but I deny them. ty

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
sorry if this is a bad question to you guys but I'm somewhat new to configuring firewalls. I just figured out how to use it really port wise and how importent they are. I only connect with tcp now through 1 remote port, when I used to just make it TCP/UDP both directions any remote(bad idea I know now) on explorer but switched to firefox. Well now when I'm online I get incoming connection attempts from strange ips any idea why they are trying to access my system and firefox? I denied all incoming outgoing from my system and dont have any problems but was wondering if maybe the system is needed for something I don't know about.

·
Banned
1,077 Posts
If you don't have programs that perform auto-updates and you are not browsing/chatting etc... then all the incoming connections (even the outgoing ones) are unjustified.
You are better off blocking them until you realize you are experiencing a problem (such as an anti-virus program unable to connect to the server to retrieve the latest virus definition file). When you discover such an issue, just allow the specified program to pass through a specified port to the server's ip
Since you are not running a Win NT/Win 2000/ WinXP based version then I doubt you are being hacked by trojans such as the Welchia, Blaster... because these don't infect Win98 machines.