Overclock.net banner

What does a Volt mod exactly do?

2842 Views 18 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  CL3P20
Sorry I'm a complete noob at this and not wanting to try this anytime soon, but what exactly does a volt mod do, does it allow me to overclock higher? Also does EVGA's GPU Voltage work on any GTX200 series card by any company?

Thanks in advance.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Premium Member
6,246 Posts
It allows you to modify the amount of voltage that will be used. Typically, it allows for higher, stable overclocks, but its dangerous because you can easily kill the card/mobo.

· Premium Member
5,384 Posts
A volt mod allows for your graphics card to change the voltage, allowing for higher overclocks and more stability, at the risk of higher temperatures and overvolting/killing the card

Its similar to overclocking a CPU and increasing the voltage on that

· Fettered Firewall
3,162 Posts
Exactly.. It' Mod(ifys) the Voltage to portions of the card for higher overclocks.

No, EVGA's voltage tool only works with EVGA cards unless it's changed since release.

· Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ah ok thanks, yea heat isn't an issue here, I was just wondering how I could do it for my XFX card but it seems that I can't use the EVGA's tool, I want to get higher clocks since my temp is 60C underload even when overclocked. Any ideas how I could do this?

· Premium Member
6,246 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by supernova7
View Post

I guess that would work but is it reversible, and isn't it possible to damage the card by trying to bridge the contacts?

YES! Very very possible.

· Premium Member
67,312 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by supernova7 View Post
So until they come out with a application for my card should I wait?
That's up to you...

You can use RivaTuner.

· Registered
1,318 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by supernova7 View Post
Alright thanks I'm sure there is a tutorial out there on how
In fact, there is.