Overclock.net banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm somewhat new to overclocking but know the basics, I've done it before but with my 3.2 pressy...I want to know what an obtainable overclock would be for an AMD X2 3800+ with the Patriot RAM, on top of the following setup...:

AMD 64 3800+ ATHLON X2 939P
Patriot Signature DDR 2GB PC3200 400MHz CL-3 Non-ECC Unbuffered
XFX 7800GT 256MB
DFI LANPARTY UT Ultra NF4
Thermaltake Armor Case
ZALMAN CNPS 9500 LED heatsink

The house temperature is normally around 69 degrees...

If anyone has overclocked this similar setup with the same processor, also let me know please

One other thing, I'm willing to get new RAM, I already know that the timings are pretty ****ty, and the RAM overall is just not the greatest. The most I would be willing to spend on RAM is about $250. So if you know of great RAM that will work with the processor to achieve the highest overclock, please post so that I can check it out and hopefully pursue the RAM. The main point of this thread though is to find out what you guys think should be my highest stable overclock, and what RAM would go best with this processor to achieve that overclock.

Thanks a ton guys,
-Nolan

·
Registered
2,479 Posts
Thats a very good setup, heat wont be an issue with that cooler, thats prob the best mobo for OCing, you could expect up to prob 2.6-2.7, but that is a best case scenario with good RAM, to get to 2.7 I needed better RAM so I bought my current RAM, be advised I have heard of alot of people not being able to OC there X23800 over 2.4

·
Registered
109 Posts
Patriot isnt bad RAM LOL. There is better RAM out there but unless your going to get a phase changer for cooling that RAM wont hold you back. Before I can help you with the OC I need to know if you have 4 sticks of 512 or 2 1gb sticks. It will make a big difference on the settings.